School of Physical and Occupational Therapy

An evidence-informed patient care model for older in-patients of the Jewish General Hospital, successfully implemented in McGill physical and occupational therapy student’s curriculum. 

Read how and when this was implemented, about the teaching award as well as testimonials from students, clinicians, and patients. 


Published on: 11 May 2022

A new Adaptive Reconfiguration Index has crucial implications for clinical management and decision-making in unconscious and unresponsive brain-injured patients. 

Published on: 31 Jan 2022

Ableism, Accessibility & Advocacy - How has the global pandemic informed rehabilitation?

The Global Health Rehabilitation Initiative (GHRI) team of the School of Physical and Occupational Therapy are hosting the annual GHRI Symposium on Sept 18, 2021.

The symposium will include key note session, interactive workshops, and a plenary session.

There will be opportunities to win gifts of $30, $20 and $10! 

Find all registration and full day schedule on GHRI Events. 

Published on: 16 Sep 2021


Tania Janaudis-Ferreira, PhD has received the Distinction Award from the Canadian Thoracic Society!

Published on: 9 Jul 2021

Jadranka (Adriana) Spahija has been named to the Faculty Honour List for Educational Excellence! This honour is in recognition of her exceptional contributions to education in the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (School of Physical and Occupational Therapy). Dr. Spahija was honoured at the Faculty Honour List Symposium on June 10.

Published on: 9 Jul 2021

Dr. Joyce Fung and Dr. Dorothy Thomas-Edding have been awarded a medal of distinction to celebrate 100th anniversary of the Canadian Physiotherapy Association. The Canadian Physiotherapy Association's Centenary Medals of Distinction have been created to mark the Association's Centenary. The medal serves to recognize 100+ individuals who have impacted physiotherapy from 1920 to 2020. These medals were presented and the recipients recognized at the CPA's Congress 2021.

Published on: 9 Jul 2021

Isabelle J. Gagnon, PT, PhD has been awarded le Prix d’excellence du REPAR (Reseau provincial de recherche en adaptation-readaptation)!

Published on: 9 Jul 2021

Caroline Storr, erg., OT, MBA has been named Quebec’s Outstanding OT of the Year by CAOT-Qc! This award honours CAOT members living in Quebec who have made an outstanding contribution to the profession throughout their career. As a most deserving recipient for this honour, the CAOT Board of Directors is very pleased to acknowledge Ms. Storr's exceptional contributions to occupational therapy.

Published on: 9 Jul 2021

Congratulations from the faculty and staff at SPOT for the promotion to Associate Professor with tenure, of Tania Janaudis-Ferreira, PhD!

Published on: 9 Jul 2021

Dr. Stefanie Blain-Moraes: Working alongside people with disabilities to develop assistive technology

by Matthew Brett

Published on: 8 Feb 2021


Aliki Thomas, erg., PhD has been awarded the 2021 CAME Certificate of Merit Award. Dr. Thomas is an Associate Professor in the Occupational Therapy Program at SPOT. The objectives of the Canadian Association of Medical Education are to promote, recognize and reward faculty committed to medical education in Canada. Aliki will be honoured at an upcoming CAME Conference on Medical Education.

Published on: 15 Jan 2021

Marie Brossard-Racine, erg., PhD has been awarded a five-year CIHR CRC Tier 2: Canada Research Chair in Brain and Child Development as part of the 2019-2 (Fall 2020) competition! The program recognizes that diversity is indispensable to research excellence - among the Canada Research Chair recipients 51% are women. Brava, Marie!

Published on: 11 Jan 2021

Congratulations to Nadina Paraschuk on being the recipient of the 2020 McGill Faculty of Medicine Pam Chase Ovations Award!

This award applauds the outstanding contributions of permanent administrative support staff from across the Faculty of Medicine, recognizing the distinction, hard work, determination, and dedication of the staff members. Nadina was honoured at a special online virtual reception hosted by Dean Eidelman recently, attended by many friends, family and colleagues.

Published on: 11 Dec 2020

Joyce Fung, PhD, Marc Roig, PhD and Laurie Snider, erg., PhD are co-investigators and JRH site investigators of CANSTIM - Canadian Platform for Research in Non-Invasive Brain Stimulation (NIBS). CANSTIM is recently funded by the Brain Canada Foundation, through the Canada Brain Research Fund, with the financial support of Health Canada, for a total amount of close to two million dollars over 3 years.

Published on: 11 Dec 2020

Zachary Boychuck, erg., PhD  Faculty Lecturer in the OT Program at SPOT, was recently awarded a McGill MedStar Award by McGill’s Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences for his publication, "International expert recommendations of clinical features to prompt referral for diagnostic assessment of cerebral palsy," in Developmental Medicine & Child Neurology. The publication also features several SPOT co-authors from the PROMPT group.

Published on: 11 Dec 2020


Back to top