Quick Links

University Appeals Committee

Terms of Reference:

An Extract from the Regulations on Appeals of Tenure Decisions (approved by Senate on February 18, 2015):

7.1 There shall be an Appeals Committee for hearing appeals of the final decision of the Principal against recommending a grant of tenure.

7.2 The Appeals Committee shall consist of ten (10) members of the academic staff, appointed to staggered terms of office of three (3) years, commencing on September 1st.

7.3 The appointments shall be approved by Senate and the Board of Governors, following the nominating process set out below.

7.4 Prior to the March 1st of each year, the Secretary-General shall request from the President of the McGill Association of University Teachers (M.A.U.T.) and the Principal a slate of names consisting of at least twice the number of vacancies on the Appeals Committee to be filled that year.

7.5 The slate of recommended names shall be submitted by the President of M.A.U.T. and the Principal to the Secretary-General for consideration by the Senate Nominating Committee. From this slate, the Senate Nominating Committee shall select the persons to recommend to Senate to fill the vacancies. Reasonable efforts shall be made to give due consideration to gender representation as well as representation from different faculties when appointing members to the Appeals Committee.

7.6 To be eligible to serve, the staff member shall be a tenured member of the full-time academic staff who is on active employment with the University, and available to serve for the full term of the appointment.

7.7 The Appeals Committee shall select a Chair and Vice Chair annually from amongst the serving members.


Current Membership

Professor Robert Leckey (LAW) - 2016  (Chair)
Professor John Silvius (Biochemistry, MEDICINE) – 2018  (Vice-Chair)

Professor Kathleen Cullen (Physiology, MEDICINE) – 2016
Professor Emine Sarigöllü (MANAGEMENT) – 2016
Professor Peter Grütter (Physics, SCIENCE) – 2017
Professor Frank Ferrie (Electrical and Computer Engineering, ENGINEERING) – 2017


(3-year terms commencing September 1, 2015)

Professor John Silvius (Biochemistry, MEDICINE) – 2018  (Vice-Chair)
Professor Kathleen Cullen (Medicine, MEDICINE) – 2016
Professor Robert Leckey (LAW) - 2016  (Chair)
Professor Emine Sarigollu (MANAGEMENT) - 2016
Professor Peter Grütter (Physics, SCIENCE) - 2017
Professor Frank Ferrie (Electrical and Computer Engineering, ENGINEERING) - 2017
Professor Jane Everett (French Language and Literature, ARTS) - 2018
Professor Marilyn Fitzpatrick (Educational and Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION)- 2018
Professor Marilyn Scott (Parasitology, AES) - 2018
Professor Tim Moore (Geography, SCIENCE) - 2018

Bonnie Borenstein, Secretary