Science Office for Undergraduate Student Advising (SOUSA)

OFFICE CLOSURE: Please be advised that the university and the SOUSA office will be closed for Easter (March 29 to April 1).  Advising appointments will be available again on April 2.

Finding the right advisor

You have access to two kinds of academic advisors: Degree advisors (housed in SOUSA) and Program advisors (housed in their respective Departments). Learn more about the services they provide.

Course registration issues

Registration for a course is controlled by the Department that offer the course. SOUSA advisors cannot help you register for a course that is full or restricted, you must contact the Department offering the course.

Admissions & tuition fees

Admission to McGill and payment of tuition fees is handled by Enrolment Services. SOUSA advisors cannot answer questions related to admissions or student accounts.  Visit the Admissions Office website for information on admission requirements, the application process (including deadlines), assessment of advanced standing and transfer credits, language proficiency requirements, legal documents and transcript requirements. Visit the Student Accounts website for information on tuition fees and billing.

OFFICE CLOSURE: Please be advised that the university and the SOUSA office will be closed for Easter (March 29 to April 1). Advising appointments will be available again on April 2.

Booking an appointment your advisor

Individual advising sessions are available on a first-come first-served basis. Please email advisor.science [at] mcgill.ca (our receptionist) to get links for your advisor's booking pages, where you can book your own in-person or online session. Sessions are offered on weekdays during regular office hours (Montreal time), and can only be booked a maximum of 2 days in advance.

Be sure to:

  • Use your McGill email account
  • Include your ID number
  • Include the name of your assigned advisor (this can be found on your Minerva transcript)

You can also email your SOUSA advisor with questions and they will respond as quickly as possible. See below for advisors' schedules and email addresses.

Note that during the Add/Drop period at the start of each term, we receive a high volume of emails and appointment requests.  Please expect longer wait times and avoid sending multiple emails.  We appreciate your patience and will do our utmost to respond to inquiries as quickly as possible.

Advisor contact info

Your assigned advisor is listed on your Minerva transcript, near your name.

  • Pete Barry: pete.barry [at] mcgill.ca
  • Paul Olioff: paul.olioff [at] mcgill.ca
  • Vanessa Hansen: vanessa.hansen [at] mcgill.ca
  • Olivia Sanalitro: olivia.sanalitro [at] mcgill.ca
  • Tania Raggo (BA&Sc degree) tania.raggo [at] mcgill.ca
  • Jane Hawes jane.hawes [at] mcgill.ca

Specialist advisors:

  • Mary Gauthier mary.gauthier [at] mcgill.ca - B.Sc. Exchange, Study abroad, Inter/Intra-faculty transfers and newly accepted students who have taken courses outside of McGill before coming to McGill.
  • Marina Saunders marina.saunders [at] mcgill.ca - B.A. & Sc. Exchange, Study abroad, Inter-faculty transfers and newly accepted students who have taken courses outside of McGill before coming to McGill.
  • General Inquiries: advisor.science [at] mcgill.ca ("adviser" works too)
  • Readmission Inquiries: readmission.science [at] mcgill.ca

Email

New students: newstudentadvising.science [at] mcgill.ca
All other inquiries or to book an appointment with your assigned Degree advisor: advisor.science [at] mcgill.ca (advisor or adviser both work)


Mailing address

Dawson Hall, room 405
McGill University
853 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
H3A  0G5

› Map

Back to top