McGill's Mandy Mongeon merits all-Canadian mention in rugby



MONTREAL - Amandra Mongeon of the McGill Martlets has earned CIS all-Canadian honours in women's rugby. The 24-year-old physiology senior from Ile-Bizard, Que., better known as "Mandy", plays primarily at the No.8 position and scored three tries in six games.


It marks the sixth time that a member of the Martlets has merited All-Canadian honours. Previous McGill honourees include Laura Belvedere (twice: 2005, 2006), Julia Leonard (2004), Araba Chintoh (2003) and Patricia Jaworski (2003).


Guelph's Jacey Murphy of Alliston, Ont., was named CIS player of the year in women's rugby. Other CIS major award winners announced during the All-Canadian Banquet in Peterborough, Ont., were UBC's Megan Hamm of Aldergrove, B.C., who was named rookie of the year; St. Francis Xavier's Jamee George of Brandon, Man., who received the Student-Athlete Community Service Award; and Concordia's Graeme McGravie, who was chosen coach of the year, an award presented by Coaches of Canada.


The CIS women's rugby championship, hosted for the first time by Trent University, gets under way Thursday and culminates Sunday with the gold-medal final at 2 p.m. All nine games from the competition will be webcast by SSN Canada (available at or


Joining Mongeon, Murphy and Hamm on the all-Canadian squad were conference most valuable players Beukeboom, Tittley and Willoughby, AUS rookie of the year Magali Harvey, as well as StFX prop Asya Bartley of Ottawa, Guelph centre Britt Benn of Napanee, Ont., Alberta fullback Karlee Carbert of Edmonton, Victoria eight man Jesse Olynyk of Kamloops, B.C., Laval centre Élie Papineau of Sainte-Croix, Que., McMaster centre Natasha Turner of Rockcliffe, Ont., Lethbridge prop Brandi Van Eeuwen of Duncan, B.C., and Queen's eight man Ashley Ward of Barrie, Ont. Tittley and Benn were both selected for the third straight year.



Position  Athlete                       University       Year    Hometown             Faculty

Prop:         Asya Bartley StFX                3          Ottawa, Ont.                Human Kinetics

Centre:     Britt Benn Guelph             3          Napanee, Ont.            Arts

No.8:        Tyson Beukeboom StFX                2          Uxbridge, Ont.            Human Kinetics

Fullback:  Karlee Carbert Alberta             4          Edmonton, Alta.          PE Recreation

Scrumhalf Megan Hamm UBC                1          Aldergrove, B.C.          Human Kinetics

Fullback:   Magali Harvey StFX                1          Quebec City, Que.      BBA

No.8:        Amandra Mongeon McGill             4          Ile Bizard, Que.           Physiology

No.8:        Jacey Murphy Guelph            4          Alliston, Ont.               Agriculture

No.8:        Jesse Olynyk Victoria            3          Kamloops, B.C.          Social Sciences

Centre:     Élie Papineau Laval               4          Sainte-Croix, Que.      Business Admin

Centre:     Jackie Tittley Concordia        3          Kirkland, Que.             Leisure Studies

Centre:     Natasha Turner McMaster        4          Rockcliffe, Ont.           Arts & Science

Prop:        Brandi Van Eeuwen Lethbridge       3          Duncan, B.C.              Nursing

No.8:        Ashley Ward Queen's           5          Barrie, Ont.                 Conservative Ed.

Flanker:    Kelsey Willoughby Lethbridge       2          Lethbridge, Alta.         Education


Player of the year: Jacey Murphy, Guelph

Rookie of the year: Megan Hamm, UBC

Student-Athlete Community Service Award: Jamee George, StFX

Coach of the year, presented by Coaches of Canada: Graeme McGravie, Concordia


Earl Zukerman

Communications Officer

Athletics & Recreation

McGill University

514-398-7012 (Tel.) (mobile website)

earl.zukerman [at]"> earl.zukerman [at]