Lyceum Traveling Fellowship in Architecture


For the second year in a row, a McGill student has received the top award in the Lyceum Traveling Fellowship in Architecture competition. Third-year undergraduate Justin Chapman was awarded first prize (a $12,000 travel grant), while Krystal Lung, Cailen Pybus and Saul Strauss were awarded three of six merit awards. The McGill submissions were projects developed in the U3 studio sections of Profs. Howard Davies, Martin Bressani, Ricardo Castro, Sinisha Brdar and Tom Balaban.

The Lyceum Fellowship was established in 1985 to advance the development of the next generation of talent by creating a vehicle for stimulating perceptive reasoning and inspiring creative thought in architecture. Through a unique structure of design competition and prize winning travel grants it seeks to establish a dialogue through design among selected schools of architecture. The Lyceum Competition welcomes submissions from students attending one of the 15 participating schools. This year's competition theme was "The Wells-Lamson Quarry." The charge was to design a building complex for an institution devoted primarily to visual, literary, landscape and performing artists, engaging the site in a significant way commensurate with the size, scale and emotional impact of the quarry.

For additional information on the 2012 competition, please visit the Lyceum website.