Lyceum Traveling Fellowship in Architecture


Four third-year McGill Architecture undergraduate students have received top awards in the 2011 Lyceum Traveling Fellowship in Architecture competition. Meng Li was awarded first prize (a $12,000 travel prize), Boris Morin-Defoy was awarded third prize (a $1,500 grant), and Stephanie Huss and Sara-Jeanne Jacques-Dagenais were awarded two of four merit awards. The McGill submissions were projects developed in the U3 studio sections of Profs. Howard Davies, Aaron Sprecher, Sinisha Brdar and Matt Fisher.

The organizers reported: "As always, we thank our participating schools for the tremendous work of the faculty and students! We recognize and appreciate the many hours of hard work that is represented by each submission. Our 2011 jury was presented with a long day: a record-breaking 250 entries from 11 schools. Each submission was reviewed by each juror, many entries were discussed among the jury, and the finalists’ entries were deliberated thoroughly for close to two hours. This was a very competitive year; all recognized students should be particularly proud."

The Lyceum Fellowship was established in 1985 to advance the development of the next generation of talent by creating a vehicle for stimulating perceptive reasoning and inspiring creative thought in architecture. Through a unique structure of design competition and prize winning travel grants it seeks to establish a dialogue through design among selected schools of architecture. The Lyceum Competition welcomes submissions from students attending one of the 15 participating schools. This year's competition theme was "Earth Curvature: A Local / Global Rest Area." The 2011 jury chair and program author was Wendell Burnette of Wendell Burnette Architects, Phoenix, AZ.

For additional information on the 2011 competition, please visit the Lyceum website.