On Golden Pond: Synchro squad captures sixth consecutive league championship


Published: 8Feb2010




LONDON, Ont. - The McGill Martlets captured their sixth consecutive Gerry Dubrule trophy as Canadian University  Synchro Swim League champions on Saturday at London, Ont.


McGill finished first of 15 schools with 56 points, easily out-distancing the second-place Western Ontario Mustangs, who had 46 points.


The Martlets swept top podium spots in all three major events, with Laura McClemont of Toronto winning the solo routine. Katherine Lepage of Whitby, Ont., teamed up with Savannah Forrester of Calgary to win the duet competition.


McGill's winning team routine was coached by Cassandra Bilogan and Lynn Macrae. The squad was composed of freshmen Samantha Allen of Dollard des Ormeaux, Que., Emmanuelle Beaulieu of Pointe Claire, Que., and McClemont, plus sophomores Lepage, Lisa Portney of Andover, Mass., and Forrester, in addition to junior Marie-Eve Chartier of St. Augustin, Que., and senior Amy Morrow of Ottawa,


A composite team from Waterloo/Laurier placed third in the overall standings with 23 points, followed by 4. Queen's (22), 5. Toronto/York (19), 6. Alberta (17) , 7. Calgary (14), 8. McMaster (12), 9. Brock (9), 10. Trent (8), 11. Victoria (7), 12. Ottawa (6),13. Guelph (2) and 14. (tie) UBC (0) and Carleton (0).




Earl Zukerman

Communications Officer

McGill Athletics & Recreation


earl.zukerman [at] mcgill.ca


Back to top