Congratulations to the 2020 Award winner Dr. Marco Mascarella

Published: 22 July 2020

Dear Colleagues,

In early 2019, Dr. Rolf Loertscher and Ms. Ziba Aalamian established The Dr. Kent MacKenzie Award for Educational Leadership and Excellence in Surgery”.
They were inspired to do so based on their appreciation for Dr. MacKenzie’s clinical judgment, understanding and communication as well as his surgical expertise in the management of Anoosh’s complex arterial pathology.

This named award aims to recognize and support a McGill surgical trainee who has demonstrated outstanding abilities in Education, Leadership and Surgical Excellence. The award will support the resident in obtaining further formalized training or experience in leadership or surgical education.

The Selection Committee is pleased to announce that the 2020 Award winner is Dr. Marco Mascarella.
Congratulations Marco on this accomplishment and thank you for all your contributions on behalf of the Department of Surgery!


Liane S Feldman MDCM FACS FRCS
Edward W. Archibald Professor and Chair, Department of Surgery McGill University
Surgeon-in-chief, McGill University Health Centre
Professeure Edward W. Archibald et directrice, Département de chirurgie, Université McGill
Chirurgienne en chef, Centre universitaire de santé McGill

Back to top