Announcing the winners of the 2018 Nappert Prize

Published: 11 September 2018

The Faculty of Law is delighted to announce the winners of the 2018 Nappert Prize in International Arbitration. A panel of eight distinguished judges selected the following three papers from among more than 80 entries.

  • First Prize ($4,000): Dina Prokic (BCL/LLB’17, McGill; Attorney & Counselor at Law, New York), “SIAC Proposal on Cross-Institution Consolidation Protocol: Can It Be Transplanted into Investment Arbitration?"
  • Second Prize ($2,000): Alastair Simon Chetty (LLB’18, National University of Singapore), “Embracing Practical Solutions in Dealing with the Distinct Shades of Abuse of Process in Investment Arbitration”
  • Third Prize ($1,000): Ella Wisniewski (LLM’17, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin; Associate, Clyde&Co, Australia), “A Changing Climate: The Future of Legitimate Expectations in Energy Investment Disputes”

The winners will be invited to present their papers at a symposium hosted by McGill University on November 1, 2018. They will also have the opportunity to compete for a $1,000 award for best oralist.

We are grateful to Julie Bédard, Lawrence Boo, Olivier Caprasse, Kun Fan, José Feris, Alexander Fessas, Meg Kinnear, and Eduardo Zuleta Jaramillo for their careful and thorough consideration of the essays. We are also grateful to Sophie Nappert, BCL’86, LLB’86, whose generosity and vision have made this competition possible. The next Nappert Prize contest will be held in 2020. More details will be available in late 2019.

Find out more by visiting the Nappert Prize page.

Congratulations to the 2018 winners!

Back to top