Tomlinson Scientist Awards

First offered in 2009-2010, these awards have been established in honour of the interdisciplinary collaborators Ernest Rutherford (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1908) and Frederick Soddy (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1921), through the generous endowment of a visionary philanthropist, Dr. Richard Tomlinson. The intention of the award is:

  • to recognize and support excellence,
  • to recognize and support scientific leadership, particularly the collaborative leadership of a research agenda, and
  • to provide seed money for emerging research directions, including those of an interdisciplinary nature.

Terms, eligibility, value, and selection process

Each fall, the Dean of Science invites each Faculty of Science Department or School to nominate professors from their own department.

Each large Faculty of Science Department or School may make two nominations; each small Department may make one nomination. The large Departments are Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, and Psychology.

There are normally three annual awards, one each at the Assistant, Associate, and Full Professor level.

Faculty members are only eligible to win this award once at a given level.

A nomination consists of a CV and a research plan in electronic format. The research plan will describe the need for and intended use of the funds.

Each award carries with it a research stipend of $50,000. The award can only be spent to support graduate students. Each award will be given out in three equal installments. Each installment must be spent in the year it is provided, or it will be clawed back. The award must be matched by other support, as determined by the Department Chair and reported by the Chair to the Dean.

Awards are made by the Dean following the advice and review of proposals by all Chairs and Associate Deans in the Faculty.

Recipients of the Tomlinson Scientist Awards

YearAssistant ProfessorAssociate ProfessorFull Professor
2009-2010 Dr. Gonzalo Cosa (Chemistry) and
Dr. Guillaume Gervais (Physics) (tie)
Dr. Mathieu Blanchette (Computer Science) Dr. Michel Loreau (Biology)
2010-2011 Dr. Matt Dobbs (Physics) Dr. Andrew Gonzalez (Biology) Dr. Hong Guo (Physics)
2011-2012 Dr. Xue Liu (Computer Science) Dr. Andrew Hendry (Redpath Museum) Dr. Karim Nader (Psychology)
2012-2013 Dr. Jérôme Waldispühl (Computer Science) Dr. Dmitrii (Dima) Perepichka (Chemistry) Dr. Paul Lasko (Biology)
2013-2014 Dr. Paul Kry (Computer Science) Dr. Ehab Abouheif (Biology) No Award

Dr. Jonathan Davies (Biology)


Dr. Tomislav Friscic (Chemistry)

Dr. Joelle Pineau (Computer Science) No Award