Quick Links

V.-p. (Avancement universitaire)

Marc Weinstein, vice-principal (Avancement universitaire)

Vice-principal à l’Avancement universitaire, Marc Weinstein a dirigé la campagne Inventer l’avenir, le plus vaste effort de financement jamais entrepris par l’Université McGill. En huit ans à peine, la campagne a recueilli 1,026 milliard, auprès de 100 000 diplômés et amis.

Largement reconnu pour ses compétences dans le domaine de la collecte de fonds, Marc a été nommé vice-principal en 2008 et a vu son mandat renouvelé en 2012. Parmi ses responsabilités, mentionnons la direction des activités de financement et des relations avec les donateurs et les diplômés, de centaines d’événements au sein du réseau mondial de l’Université McGill, d’un éventail de services aux diplômés, ainsi que de services de communications et numériques à l’intention de diplômés et de donateurs aux quatre coins du monde.

Auparavant, Marc a assumé les fonctions de vice-président et d’avocat général de la Fondation du Centre universitaire de santé McGill et joué un rôle clé dans sa campagne de financement de 300 M$ Les meilleurs soins pour la vie. Avant cela, il a dirigé la Fondation de l’Hôpital général juif de Montréal et a aussi exercé en qualité d’avocat au sein du cabinet montréalais Borden Ladner Gervais.

Natif de Montréal et fier diplômé mcgillois, Marc est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts (1985) et de diplômes en droit civil et en common law (1991) de l’Université McGill et d’une maîtrise ès arts de l’Université York de Toronto (1987). Il est membre du Barreau du Québec et un ancien membre du conseil d’administration de la Fondation du CUSM, ainsi que du Conseil pour le soutien et l’avancement en éducation (CASE) et de la Commission sur la philanthropie.

En 2015, Marc a reçu le prix Carrière exceptionnelle en philanthropie de la section Québec de l’Association des professionnels en philanthropie (AFP).

Quick Links

VP (University Advancement)

Marc Weinstein, Vice-Principal, University Advancement

Marc Weinstein

Marc Weinstein is the Vice-Principal of University Advancement at McGill, where he spearheaded Campaign McGill: History in the Making. Campaign McGill was the University’s most ambitious and comprehensive fundraising effort ever and raised a remarkable $1.026 billion in just eight years, drawing on support from nearly 100,000 alumni and friends.

An accomplished fundraiser, Marc was appointed as Vice-Principal in 2008 and renewed for a second term in 2012. His responsibilities include the oversight of all fundraising and donor relations as well as the broad dossier of alumni relations, incorporating hundreds of events within McGill’s global network, a wide range of alumni services, as well as communications and digital services for alumni and donors around the world.

Marc has previously served as Vice-President and General Counsel of the McGill University Health Centre Foundation, where he played a key role in the $300-million Best Care for Life Campaign. Prior to that, he was the Executive Director of the Jewish General Hospital Foundation in Montreal and worked as an attorney at Borden Ladner Gervais in Montreal.

A native Montrealer and a proud McGill alumnus, Marc has a Bachelor of Arts degree from McGill (1985), a Master of Arts degree from York University in Toronto (1987) and both Civil Law (BCL) and Common Law (LLB) degrees from McGill (1991). He is a member of the Quebec Bar, a former member of the Board of Directors of the MUHC Foundation, and past member of the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE), Commission on Philanthropy.

In 2015, Marc was the recipient of the Outstanding Philanthropic Career Award from the Quebec Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP).