Skip to main content

Bachelor of Science in Architecture

What's special about a McGill Bachelor of Science in Architecture?

Accomplished alumni, inspired visiting speakers, talented students, productive professors, and outstanding travel and learning opportunities continue to make McGill’s School of Architecture a unique and inspiring place to study.

The School of Architecture at McGill University was founded in 1896. In 2017, the School was renamed, in perpetuity, the Peter Guo-hua Fu School of Architecture - after the illustrious Chinese architect and McGill Alumnus. Its mission is to educate professionals who will contribute to the socio-economic and cultural development of Quebec, Canada and the broader global community through responsible participation in the process of the design, construction and interpretation of the built environment.

How is the B.Sc. (Arch) structured?

Over the course of three years (U1, U2 and U3), students will complete a 100-credit non-professional degree.  For students from high schools outside Quebec, a 26-credit freshman year (called U0) will be added at the start of your studies (making this a four-year, 126-credit non-professional degree).  For a detailed program outline, click here.

If you will be completing advanced level course work (such as International Baccalaureate, French Baccalaureate, Advanced Placement (AP), Advanced Levels, and/or university courses) you may receive advanced standing credit for all or part of the U0 year.

To obtain professional certification, students must continue their studies and complete a Masters in Architecture.  The McGill M.Arch. (Professional) degree is accredited by the Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB), and is recognized as accredited by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) in the United States.

For a detailed program outline, click here.

Enhance your B.Sc. (Arch) Degree!

A limited number of qualified students may participate in an exchange with schools of architecture at other universities that have agreements with the McGill School of Architecture, for a maximum of one term in the second year of the B.Sc.(Arch.) program. These include the following: Università Iuav di Venezia (Venice, Italy); Fakultät für Raumplanung und Architektur, Technische Universität Wien (Vienna, Austria); Université Catholique de Louvain (Brussels, Belgium); École Nationale Supérieure d'architecture de Grenoble (Grenoble, France); École Nationale Supérieure d'architecture de Clermont-Ferrand (Clermont-Ferrand, France); Scuola di Architettura Civile Politecnico di Milano (Boviso) (Milan, Italy).