Inquiry Network

Carole, Sarah and George during a meeting

The Inquiry Network is a cross disciplinary group of faculty who meet regularly to explore how to engage undergraduate students with the processes of research and scholarship within coursework.

The Inquiry Network has three main objectives:

  1. Members analyze their own undergraduate courses to determine how they currently initiate students to research in their discipline, whether it be through the discussion of research findings, the use of research methods and/or the fostering of curiosity and higher-order thinking skills.
  2. Members work together to develop resources for McGill instructors university-wide to facilitate their understanding of how to integrate teaching and research/scholarship for the benefit of student learning.
  3. Members work together to develop recommendations for the administration on how to move forward with its goal to promote the integration of teaching and research/scholarship for the benefit of student learning.

McGill Approach to the Teaching-Research Nexus

The members of the Inquiry Network co-authored a report, which includes the Inquiry Network’s Framework of Learning Outcomes for enhancing students’ understanding of research/scholarship, examples from each of the members on how they have integrated these outcomes into an undergraduate course, and recommendations for University on how to promote the teaching-research nexus.

Group photo of the Inquiry Network

Current members

  • Rhonda Amsel, Psychology
  • Christopher M. Buddle, Natural Resource Sciences
  • Richard Chromik, Mining and Materials Engineering (on sabbatical)
  • Isabelle Cossette, Music Research
  • Jaye Dana Ellis, Law and McGill School of Environment
  • dik Harris, Physics
  • Terry Hébert, Pharmacology and Therapeutics
  • Ruthanne Huising, Management
  • Sue Laver, The McGill Writing Centre
  • George McCourt, McGill School of Environment
  • David Ragsdale, Neurology and Neurosurgery
  • Sarah Turner, Geography
  • Carole Urbain, McGill Library
  • Tamara Western, Biology

TLS members

  • Marcy Slapcoff, Teaching and Learning Services
  • Mariela Tovar, Teaching and Learning Services
  • Eva Dobler, Teaching and Learning Services

Former members

  • Christopher J. Barrett, Chemistry
  • Torsten Bernhardt, Tomlinson Project in University-Level Science Education
  • Kathleen M. Fallon, Sociology
  • Megan Fitzgibbons, McGill Library
  • Laura Gougeon, School of Dietetics and Human Nutrition
  • Katherine Hanz, McGill Library
  • David Harpp, Chemistry
  • Svetlana Komarova, Dentistry
  • Becky Lentz, Art History and Communication Studies
  • Peter H. Radziszewski, Mechanical Engineering
  • Annie Savard, Integrated Studies in Education


McGill University is on land which has long served as a site of meeting and exchange amongst Indigenous peoples, including the Haudenosaunee and Anishinabeg nations. We acknowledge and thank the diverse Indigenous people whose footsteps have marked this territory on which peoples of the world now gather.

Back to top