Catalyst Awards Review Process

Award categories

The process of developing awards categories and awards criteria is stewarded by the McGill Office of Sustainability (MOOS) in collaboration with stakeholders in the community, including the Catalyst Awards Review Committee (CARC).

This is done on an annual basis, building on experiences of the past year.

  • For 2010-2015, awards were allocated across four (4) student categories and the staff category
  • For 2016, it was proposed and accepted by the CARC that the awards categories be aligned with the five categories of sustainability as outlined in McGill’s Vision 2020 Sustainability Strategy, while retaining the Emerald Key award.
  • For 2017, based on community feedback, it was proposed that
    • The Awards categories and criteria continue to align with Vision 2020, but compressing the five Category awards into three; i.e.
            §  Research and Education (combined)
            §  Connectivity, Governance and Administration (combined)
            ​§  Operations
    • Restoring the Catalyst Award for Faculty and Staff; and
    • Retain the Emerald Key award as is.
  • For 2018, the CARC decided to add the Distinguished Contribution Award



As of 2015, the composition of the Catalyst Awards Review Committee is as follows:

  • AVP Human Resources
  • AVP Facilities Management and Ancillary Services (FMAS)
  • Dean of Students
  • President, SSMU
  • Secretary-General, PGSS
  • President, MCSS (added 2014)
  • Previous year’s Emerald Key winner (added 2015)
  • McGill Office of Sustainability (MOOS)– Senior Sustainability Officer/SPF Steward (ex-officio, nonvoting)
  • AVP Development, University Advancement [NEW 2017-2018 edition]

The composition of the Review Committee may be reviewed annually by the most recent cohort in collaboration with the Office of Sustainability.


Role of Review Committee

  • Provide feedback and suggestions in iterative development of Catalyst Awards (categories, criteria, etc.)
  • Review submissions submitted for award candidates
  • Shortlist candidates who fill the criteria
  • Select award candidates
Back to top