

MCGILL UNIVERSITY DEPARTMENT OF SURGERY

28TH**ANNUAL** H. ROCKE ROBERTSON VISITING PROFESSORSHIP

DR. BRYAN A. COTTON APRIL 24TH AND 25TH, 2024

BRYAN A. COTTON, MD, MPH

DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR IN CLINICAL SCIENCES AT JOHN B HOLMES

PROFESSOR IN THE DEPARTMENT OF SURGERY AT THE McGOVERN MEDICAL SCHOOL AND THE RED DUKE TRAUMA INSTITUTE AT MEMORIAL HERMANN HOSPITAL

DIRECTOR OF SURGICAL CRITICAL CARE, TRAUMA SURGERY AND ACUTE CARE SURGERY FELLOWSHIPS AT UT-HOUSTON

Dr. Bryan Cotton is currently the John B Holmes Distinguished Professor in Clinical Sciences and Professor in the Department of Surgery at the McGovern Medical School (UT-Houston) and the Red Duke Trauma Institute at Memorial Hermann Hospital. In addition, he is the Director of the Surgical Critical Care, Trauma Surgery, and Acute Care Surgery Fellowships at UT-Houston. His clinical specialties are trauma surgery and surgical critical care. Dr. Cotton's research focuses on identifying best resuscitation strategies for hemorrhagic shock.

Over the last decade, his research has focused on identifying best resuscitation strategies for hemorrhagic shock, development and maturation of massive transfusion protocols and the early prediction of patients who will receive massive transfusion of blood and blood products. To that end, he has held funding from the National Institutes of Health, the State of Texas Emerging Technologies Fund, and the Department of Defense. Even when not serving as principal investigator, he has been recognized by others as a key contributor and has subsequently been awarded site-principal investigator for numerous studies in the field of resuscitation and hemostasis.



HYBRID EVENT IN-PERSON & ONLINE PARTICIPATION

WEDNESDAY, APRIL 24TH, 2024

Join Zoom Meeting:

https://mcgill.zoom.us/j/88429911278

- 13:00–14:00 Special Lecture Montreal General Hospital Sir William Osler Amphitheatre, A6-105 "The End of Damage Control Laparotomy" – Bryan A. Cotton
- 14:00–17:00 Academic Program Presentations Fraser Gurd Competition Montreal General Hospital Sir William Osler Amphitheatre, A6-105

THURSDAY, APRIL 25TH, 2024

Join Zoom Meeting:

https://mcgill.zoom.us/j/82609532577

- 07:00–07:30 **Trauma Merit Award Presentation and** Announcement of Academic Presentation Winners Montreal General Hospital Sir William Osler Amphitheatre, A6-105
- 07:30–08:30 Multidisciplinary Surgical Grand Rounds Montreal General Hospital Sir William Osler Amphitheatre, A6-105 "A Decade's Work in Radically Transforming the Resuscitation of Hemorrhagic Shock" – Dr. Bryan A. Cotton

PROGRAM



1912-1998

DR. H. ROCKE ROBERTSON

DR. ROBERTSON was born in Victoria, British Columbia in 1912. In 1932 he graduated with his BSc and 1936, he obtained his MD CM from McGill University. His post graduate surgical training was under the direction of Dr. Fraser B. Gurd. He played an important role in the care of the wounded. He served in the Medical Services of the Canadian Army between 1940-1945 and reached the rank of Lieutenant Colonel.

His interest in wound infections led to his work in surgical infections and a data collection system. He became the first Chairman in the Department of Surgery at the University of British Columbia. Dr. Robertson returned to his Alma Mater

in 1959 as Surgeon-in-Chief at the Montreal General Hospital, as well as Professor and Chairman of the McGill Department of Surgery. In 1962, Dr. Robertson was appointed Principal and Vice Chancellor at McGill University. Under his leadership, many of the buildings on the campus were built including the McIntyre Medical Sciences Building. He has received many awards and honourary degrees in recognition of all facets of his brilliant career.

The visiting professorship in trauma was established in 1996 in recognition of Dr. Robertson's many accomplishments in the service of The Montreal General Hospital, the Department of Surgery, and McGill University.

H. ROCKE ROBERTSON VISITING PROFESSORS

1996 Dr. Kimball L. Maull
1997 Dr. Thomas A. Gennarelli
1998 Dr. Joseph S. Gruss
1999 Dr. Joseph J. Tepas, Ill
2000 Dr. Marc F. Wiontkowski
2001 Dr. David B. Hoyt
2002 Dr. Guy L. Clifton
2003 Dr. Robert Lee Walton, jr.
2004 Dr. Steven Stylianos
2005 Dr. Peter O'Brien
2006 Dr. Samir M. Fakhry

- 2007 Dr. Patrick M. Reilly
 2008 Dr. Rajan Gupta
 2009 Dr. Ari Leppäniemi
 2010 Dr. Hans-Christoph Pape
 2011 Dr. Juan Carlos Puyana
 2012 Dr. Mauricio Lynn
 2013 Dr. C. William Schwab
 2014 Dr. Louis Riddez
 2015 Dr. Witaya Chadbunchachai
 2016 Dr. Andrew B. Peitzman
- 2017 Dr. Morad Hameed
 2018 Dr. Maeyane Steve Moeng
 2019 Dr. Donald H. Jenkins
 2021 Dr. David R. King
 2022 Dr. Avery Nathens
 2023 Dr. Micheal Stein
 2024 Dr. Bryan A. Cotton



THIS PROGRAM IS SPONSORED BY: THE MCGILL DEPARTMENT OF SURGERY THE MONTREAL GENERAL HOSPITAL FOUNDATION