History of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

McGill University's Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences was the University's first faculty as well as Canada's first medical faculty. McGill recently celebrated its Bicentennial, marking the year—1821—it received its Royal Charter allowing it to operate as an institute of higher learning. In 1829, the fledgling institution merged with the Montreal Medical Institution, founded in 1823 by four staff members of the recently-opened Montreal General Hospital, to create the medical faculty and hence the university. Four years later, in 1833, the Faculty awarded its first degree to William Leslie Logie, who became McGill's first graduate and the first physician trained on Canadian soil.

In 2020, the Faculty changed its name from the Faculty of Medicine to the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, to better reflect its expanded scope, encompassing a range of health professions as well as population and global health and biomedical research. Today, the Faculty consists of six schools: the School of Medicine; the Ingram School of Nursing; the School of Physical and Occupational Therapy; the School of Communication Sciences and Disorders; the School of Population and Global Health; and the School of Biomedical Sciences. Also in 2020, McGill’s Campus Outaouais opened in Gatineau, offering for the first time McGill’s prestigious undergraduate medical program in French. In the same year, it launched the McGill-UQO Medical Preparatory Program in the region, together with the Faculty of Science and the Université du Québec en Outaouais (UQO). Outaouais is part of the Réseau Universitaire Intégré de Santé et Services Sociaux McGill (RUISSS McGill) and McGill postgraduate medical students (residents) have been training there since 1988.

Programs, Courses and University Regulations—2022-2023 (last updated May. 26, 2022) (disclaimer)
Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences—2022-2023 (last updated May. 26, 2022) (disclaimer)
Back to top