Recognition of Degrees

Note: This is the 20102011 edition of the eCalendar. Update the year in your browser's URL bar for the most recent version of this page, or click here to jump to the newest eCalendar.

Recognition of Degrees

The Royal Institution for the Advancement of Learning (McGill University) is a publicly funded institution and holds a Royal Charter dated 1821 (amended in 1852) as well as being incorporated under the laws of the Province of Quebec.

McGill University was a founding member of the organization which evolved into the current Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (A.U.C.C.) in which it remains very active. In addition, McGill University is a member of the American Association of Universities (A.A.U.). It is also a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities and the International Association of Universities. Its undergraduate, professional and graduate degrees, including doctorates in a full range of disciplines, have been recognized by educational, government and private organizations worldwide for decades.

All of McGill’s degree programs are approved by the Quebec Ministère de l'Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport (MELS) and the Conférence des recteurs et des principaux des universités du Québec (CREPUQ).

Programs, Courses and University Regulations—2010-2011 (last updated Apr. 22, 2010) (disclaimer)