MCGILL UNIVERSITY SENATE



Report of the Senate Steering Committee 12-13:08

(April 9, 2013 meeting, in preparation for Senate meeting of April 17, 2013)

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF SENATE

The minutes of the meeting of March 20, 2013 were circulated and the Steering Committee provided feedback. It is recommended that they now be considered for approval.

2. APPROVAL OF CONFIDENTIAL MINUTES OF SENATE

The Steering Committee reports that it has scrutinized the confidential minutes of the meeting of March 20, 2013 and has approved them on behalf of Senate. These minutes are not published or circulated but are available for perusal by Senators in the office of the Secretary of Senate.

3. SPEAKING RIGHTS

The Senate Steering Committee requests speaking rights for Dr. Suzanne Fortier, Principal-designate; to Mr. Jeffrey Ives, director of the Office of the Budget, for item IIB2 (McGill University Budget 2013-2014) and to Ms. Kathleen Massey, University Registrar and Executive Director of Enrolment Services, for item IIB8 (Annual Report on Strategic Enrolment Management)

4. TOPIC FOR 2013 JOINT BOARD/SENATE MEETING

At a joint meeting of the Executive Committee of the Board of Governors and the Senate Steering Committee, it was decided that the 2013 Joint Board/Senate Meeting would have the topic of Mental Health at the University.

5. SCOPE OF LIVESTREAMING

The Steering Committee reviewed the agenda and discussed whether portions of the meeting should be held off-camera. The Steering Committee has no such recommendations for this meeting.

6. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

Following Senator Mooney's March 20 question regarding Senate's composition, the matter was referred to the Nominating Committee, as reported in item IIB7 in the Report of the Nominating Committee.

7. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

The Steering Committee has reviewed the Agenda for the present meeting and recommends it for approval.

Present: Professor Anthony Masi (Chair); Professor Graham Bell; Professor David Covo; Ms. Haley Dinel; Professor John Galaty; Professor David Harpp; Professor Christina Wolfson; Mr. Stephen Strople (Secretary).

Regrets: Professor Heather Munroe-Blum; Mr. Jonathan Mooney.