MCGILL UNIVERSITY SENATE



Report of the Senate Steering Committee 11-12:07

(March 13, 2012 meeting, in preparation for Senate meeting, March 21, 2012)

# 1. APPROVAL OF SENATOR TODD AS CHAIR FOR THE MARCH 21 SENATE MEETING

The Principal informed the Steering Committee that she would be absent from the March 21, 2012 Senate meeting. The Steering Committee approves Senator Todd as chair for that meeting.

## 2. ACCOMMODATION OF SPECTATORS TO SENATE MEETINGS

The Steering Committee discussed ways of accommodating spectators to Senate meetings while ensuring that Senators could conduct their deliberations in an environment conducive to open and full debate without any undue sense of restraint or inhibition.

Senate has established an ad hoc committee charged with exploring options and advising Senate with respect to the recording and transmission of Senate meetings; its report is expected by the fall. In the interim, the objective is to provide accommodation to spectators, taking into account the experience of this year (including interruptions at Senate meetings), upcoming events that could have an impact on Senate, and the Senate Standing Rules of Procedure.

Part II of the Senate Standing Rules of Procedure states:

An "open" meeting is one that is open to observation by any member of the University community and accredited press subject to limitations of space, good conduct, and special consideration of confidentiality. Representatives of the Alumni Association who serve on Senate committees are also entitled to attend meetings of Senate as members of the audience.

Part III states:

Meetings of Senate should be set up to provide room for about 60 spectators. Seating arrangements should be such as to allow senators to conduct their deliberations in comfort and without any undue sense of restraint.

The Steering Committee recommends that the approach used to accommodate spectators to the February 15 Senate meeting be continued for the March, April and May 2012 meetings. For the March 21 meeting, subject to Senate approval, the proceedings may be observed in the Cybertheque classroom, in the Redpath Building.

The Steering Committee recommends the transmission of the Senate proceedings via a dedicated feed to a designated room for the April and May meetings. Leacock 232 would be reserved for Senators and Senators-elect, members of the support staff integral to the proper functioning of Senate, and members of the campus media.

#### 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF SENATE

The minutes of the meeting of February 15, 2012 were circulated and the Steering Committee provided feedback. It is recommended that they now be considered for approval.

#### 4. APPROVAL OF CONFIDENTIAL MINUTES OF SENATE

The Steering Committee reports that it has scrutinized the confidential minutes of the meeting of February 15, 2012 and has approved them on behalf of Senate. These minutes are not published or circulated but are available for perusal by Senators in the office of the Secretary of Senate.

#### 5. APPROVAL OF DEGREES, CERTIFICATES AND DIPLOMAS

On February 15, 2012, in accordance with its terms of reference, the Senate Steering Committee, approved in the name of Senate the degrees, certificates and diplomas listed in Appendix A (attached document) and empowered the Secretary of Senate to make changes to the lists as necessary.

## 6. SPEAKING RIGHTS

The Senate Steering Committee requests speaking rights for Ms Cynthia Weston, Director, Teaching and Learning Services, and Dr. Laura Winer, Associate Director, Teaching and Learning Services, for item IIB1 (Excellence in Teaching and Learning at McGill) and for Ms Kathleen Massey, University Registrar and Executive Director of Enrolment Services, for item IIB2 (Annual Report on Strategic Enrolment Management).

# 7. CONFIDENTIAL SESSION

The Steering Committee recommends that Senate enter into Confidential Session for discussion of item IIB8, the Confidential Report of Honorary Degrees and Convocations Committee.

# 8. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

At its last meeting, Senate tabled a motion pending the outcome of the review being undertaken by Professor Fuhrer in the Faculty of Medicine. The Steering Committee requests an update on the status of this review.

**Present:** Professor Heather Munroe-Blum (Chair); Ms Emily Yee Clare; Professor David Covo; Professor John Galaty; Ms Lily Han; Professor David Harpp; Professor Richard Janda; Professor Anthony Masi; Mr. Stephen Strople (Secretary); Professor Peter Todd (Guest).

**Regrets:** Gregg Blachford.