MCGILL UNIVERSITY SENATE



Report of the Senate Steering Committee 11-12:05

(January 10, 2012 meeting, in preparation for Senate meeting, January 18, 2012)

# 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF SENATE

The minutes of the meeting of December 7, 2011 have been circulated and the Steering Committee provided feedback. It is recommended that they now be considered for approval.

## 2. SPEAKING RIGHTS

The Senate Steering Committee requests speaking rights for Professor Spencer Boudreau, Ombudsperson for Students, for item IIB2 (Annual Report of the Ombudsperson for Students), and for Professor Philip Barker for item IIB5 (Quartier de l'innovation).

## 3. PRESENCE OF A PHOTOGRAPHER FROM PUBLIC AFFAIRS

In order to promote calls for nominations to Board and Senate, the Office of Public Affairs requested permission to take pictures of Senate and to post these on the McGill website. The Steering Committee discussed the matter and agrees to defer the request to February.

### 4. COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

The Steering Committee requests that Senate enter into Committee of the Whole for 60 minutes for item IIB1 (Report on Investigation into Events of November 10) and proposes Dean Ellen Aitken as chair.

### 5. CONFIDENTIAL SESSION

The Steering Committee recommends that Senate enter into Confidential Session for discussion of item IIB8, the Confidential Report of Honorary Degrees and Convocations Committee (D11-38).

### 6. TOPIC FOR DISCUSSION AT A FUTURE MEETING

The Steering Committee agrees to place the topic of Excellence in Teaching and Learning on the March 21 agenda. The item will include a brief presentation and an extended discussion on the topic.

### 7. AMENDMENTS TO FACULTY COUNCILS

The Steering Committee recommends that the question of faculty councils, their structures and their functioning, should be reviewed by the Provost, along with the Secretary-General and Professor John Galaty. A report will then be made to the Academic Policy Committee for consideration.

**Present:** Professor Heather Munroe-Blum (Chair); Professor Anthony Masi; Mr. Gregg Blachford; Ms. Emily Yee Clare; Professor John Galaty; Ms Lily Han; Professor David Harpp; Mr. Stephen Strople (Secretary).

Regrets: David Covo; Richard Janda.