

McGILL UNIVERSITY SENATE

Report of the Nominating Committee

D14-30

Present: Anthony C. Masi (Chair), , Antonia Di Paola, David Eidelman, John Galaty, Martin

Grant, Jacques Hurtubise, Ruth Kuzaitis, Chandra Madramootoo, Jennifer Murray, Jim

Nicell, Alenoush Saroyan, Morty Yalovsky.

Regrets: Rosemary Cooke, Masad Damha, Sean Ferguson, Martin Kreiswirth, Maya Kucij,

Gillian Lane-Mercier, Christopher Manfredi and Claire Stewart-Kanigan.

Note to Senators:

• Section 1 presents a recommendation of the Nominating Committee for Senate approval. The names shown indicate the membership of the committee that would result from Senate's approval, with new members <u>underlined</u>.

• Section 2 is for the information of Senate.

1. FOR THE APPROVAL OF SENATE

1.1 Appointments to Senate Standing Committees

1.1.1 Academic Policy Committee

RECOMMENDATION

Approve the appointment of *Marzieh Ghiasi* (M.Sc., Epidemiology) as an alternate graduate student representative to the Academic Policy Committee for a term beginning immediately and ending August 31, 2015.

MEMBERSHIP:

The Provost, Chair: Professor Anthony C. Masi

The Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures and Equity), Vice-Chair: Professor Lydia White

The Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning): Professor Ollivier Dyens

The Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations) or delegate: Professor Sarah Stroud

The Trenholme Dean of Libraries or delegate: Ms. Carole Urbain

The Associate Provost (Graduate Education) and Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies:

Professor Martin Kreiswirth

The Dean of Continuing Studies: Professor Judith Potter

The Director, Teaching and Learning Services: Professor Laura Winer (Interim) Board of Governors Representative: Dr. Sally McDougall – Aug. 31, 2016

One member from each of the faculties (named by Senate Nominating Committee)

Professor John Galbraith (Economics, ARTS) – 2015

Professor Steven Huebner (Music Research, MUSIC) – 2015

Professor Emine Sarigöllü (MANAGEMENT) – 2016

Professor Ian Henderson (RELIGIOUS STUDIES) – 2016

Professor Marilyn Scott (Parasitology, AES) – 2017

Professor Belinda Nicolau (DENTISTRY) – 2017

Professor Anila Asghar (Integrated Studies in Education, EDUCATION) – 2017

Professor Richard Chromik (Mining and Materials Engineering, ENGINEERING) – 2017

Professor Lara Khoury (LAW) – 2017

Professor Terry Hébert (Pharmacology and Therapeutics, MEDICINE) – 2017

Professor Tamara Western (Biology, SCIENCE) – 2017

Student members:

Graduate: Xavier St-Denis (Ph.D., Sociology)

Graduate (alternate): Marzieh Ghiasi (M.Sc., Epidemiology)

Undergraduate: Claire Stewart-Kanigan (B.A., Political Science/Canadian Studies)

Undergraduate: David Benrimoh (M.D., C.M., Medicine)

Undergraduate: Courtney Ayukawa (B.A. & Sc., Sustainability Science and Society)

Macdonald Campus: Stefanie Thibert (B.Sc., Environment)

Continuing Studies: Lucia Gallardo (Certificate Public Relations and Community Management)

Secretary: Ms. Julie Degans

2. FOR THE INFORMATION OF SENATE

Further to the recommendation made by the Ad Hoc Committee on the Enhancement of Senate Meetings in April 2014, the Senate Nominating Committee has begun its review of the terms of reference of the Academic Policy and Senate Steering Committees. To initiate this process, the Academic Policy and the Senate Steering Committees conducted a review of their own terms of reference in Fall 2014.

The Senate Nominating Committee considered the recommendations and suggestions submitted by the Academic Policy and Senate Steering Committees. It will have further discussion of the issues before proposing recommendations to Senate for its consideration at a future meeting.