

## Memorandum

**Provost Office** James Administration Bldg., Room 504 Tel.: 514-398-4177 / Fax: 514-398-4768

TO:	Senate
FROM:	Lydia White, Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures and Equity)
SUBJECT:	Appointment of Assessors under the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law
DATE:	17 April 2013
<b>DOCUMENT #:</b>	D12-59
ACTION REQUIRED:	□ INFORMATION
ISSUE:	Senate approval of assessors as required by the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law
BACKGROUND & RATIONALE:	The Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law states that:
	4.1 The Provost shall consult with the university-level students' associations, staff associations and unions on the appointment of eight (8) assessors from the University community. The appointment of the Assessors shall be approved by Senate. The Assessors shall report directly to the Provost.
	4.2 The Assessors shall be employees or appointees of the University. Four (4) shall be chosen from the members of academic staff and four (4) from the members of administrative and support staff. At least one of the Assessors shall be from Macdonald Campus.
	The current assessors are:
	Academic Staff Professor Prakash Panangaden (Science) (2010-2014) Professor Ronald Gehr (Engineering) (2012-2015) Professor Ghyslaine McClure (Engineering) (2010-2013) Professor Maria Zannis-Hadjopoulos (Medicine) (2010-2013)
	Administrative & Support Staff Ms. Elvie Coletta (Research and Restricted Funds) (2011-2014) Ms. Susan Gregus (Bioresource Eng., Macdonald Campus) (2010-2013) Ms. Susan Czarnocki (Libraries) (2011-2014) Mr. Andrew Staples (Institute of Islamic Studies) (2011-2014)
	Alternate Mr. David Syncox, Teaching and Learning Services (2011-2014)

	The terms of two assessors in the academic staff category, Prof. McClure and Prof. Zannis-Hadjopoulos, come to an end this summer, as does the term of one assessor in the Administrative and Support Staff category, Ms. Susan Gregus.
MOTION OR RESOLUTION FOR APPROVAL:	Be it resolved that Senate approve the following appointments of assessors under the <i>Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by</i> <i>Law:</i>
	i) appointment of Prof. Danielle Donnelly (Agricultural and Environmental Sciences) for a three year term ending August 31, 2016;
	ii) reappointment of Prof. Ghyslaine McClure for a two year term ending August 31, 2015;
	<ul><li>iii) appointment of Mr. David Syncox for a three year term ending August 31, 2016 (currently an alternate assessor).</li></ul>
PRIOR CONSULTATION:	As required by section 4.1 of the <i>Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law</i> the following groups have been consulted prior to bringing these names to Senate: AGSEM, AMURE, AMUSE, MAUT, MACES, MCSS, MUNASA, MUNACA, PGSS, SEU, SSMU.
NEXT STEPS:	N/A
APPENDICES:	N/A