McGILL UNIVERSITY SENATE



Report of the Nominating Committee

D12-13

Meeting of October 3, 2012 at 9:00 a.m. Room 302, James Administration Building

Present: Anthony C. Masi (Chair), Adam Bouchard, Haley Dinel, Martin Grant, Terrence

Hebert, Jacques Hurtubise, Andrew Kirk, Maya Kucij, Gillian Lane-Mercier,

Christopher Manfredi, Morty Yalovsky, Edith Zorychta.

Regrets: Jamshid Beheshti, David Eidelman, Martin Kreiswirth, Ruth Kuzaitis, Chandra

Madramootoo, Arun Misra, Heather Munroe-Blum, Kathryn Peterson.

Note to Senators:

• Each listing in Section 1 presents a recommendation of the Nominating Committee for Senate approval. The names shown indicate the membership of the committee that would result from Senate's approval, with new members underlined.

• Section 2 is for Senate's information.

1 FOR THE APPROVAL OF SENATE

1.1 APPOINTMENTS TO SENATE STANDING COMMITTEES

1.1.1 Committee on Student Services

RECOMMENDATION

Approve the appointment of Professor Christopher Barrett (Science) to the Committee on Student Service for a three-year term ending August 31, 2015.

Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning), Chair: Professor Morton Mendelson

Executive Director of Services for Students: Ms. Jana Luker

Manager, Finance and Systems, Office of the Dean of Students and Office of the Executive

Director of Services for Students: Mr. Wes Cross

Associate Dean (Student Affairs), Macdonald Campus: Professor David J. Lewis

Two Directors of Student Services:

Ms. Leslie Copeland

Mr. Ian Simmie

Two Associate Deans (Student Affairs and/or Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies):

Dr. André Costopoulos Associate Dean (Student Affairs), Faculty of Arts – 2014

Me Aisha Topsakal, Assistant Dean (Student Life and Learning), Faculty of Law – 2014

Two Representatives appointed by Senate:

Professor Christopher Barrett (Science)

Mary Jo McCullogh (Student Accounts) – 2013

Three graduate students:

Jad Belle

Mojtaba Vaezi

Elizabeth Cawley

Two undergraduate students:

Allison Cooper

George Azmy

Macdonald Campus: Kerry Blake-Saveny

Four representatives of undergraduate Student Societies (three of whom shall be from Arts, Science, Engineering, Management, or Education):

TBD

TBD

TBD

TBD

Secretary: Ms Lauren Mundy

1.1.2 Honorary Degrees and Convocations Committee

RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the appointment of Samara Perez to the Honorary Degrees and Convocations Committee for a term ending August 31, 2013.

MEMBERSHIP

The Chancellor, Chair: Mr. H. Arnold Steinberg The Principal: Professor Heather Munroe-Blum

The Provost: Professor Anthony C. Masi

The Chair of the Board or delegate: Mr. Stuart Cobbett

The University Marshal: Professor David Harpp

The President of the Alumni Association or delegate: Ms. Tina Hobday

Six representatives of Senate:

Professor Lawrence Chen (Engineering) – 2013

Professor Linda Wykes (AES) – 2013 Ms Cynthia Leive (Libraries) – 2014

Dr. Hans Zingg (Medicine) – 2014

Professor Niky Kamran (Science) – 2015

Professor Kathleen Fallon (Arts) – 2015

One graduate student: Samara Perez

One undergraduate student: Rodrigo Espinosa

Secretary: Mr Stephen Strople (Secretary-General)

1.2 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES ARISING OUT OF UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS

1.2.1 Committee on Student Grievances

RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the appointment of Ms Kate Glover as legal assessor to the Committee on Student Grievances for a term ending on August 31, 2014.

MEMBERSHIP

Chair: Professor Paul Thomassin (AES) – 2013

Four other academic staff:

Professor Arash Abizadeh (Arts) – 2014 Professor Ken Ragan (Science) – 2015

Professor Franck Mucciardi (Engineering) – 2015

Professor Teresa Strong-Wilson (Education) – 2015

Two Assessors:

Ms Kate Glover (Law) – 2014

Professor Alana Klein (Law) – 2015

Two undergraduate student members:

Kimber Bialik

Allison Cooper

Two graduate student members:

Moksha Serrano

Benjamin Wiles

Secretary: Ms Bonnie Borenstein

2. FOR THE INFORMATION OF THE SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Annual Report to Senate on Statutory Selection Committee Process 2011-2012

D09-49 – the process for the formation of Statutory Selection Committee slates states:

...In addition, at the end of the annual SSC process, a report will be provided to Senate for information indicating in aggregate form a summary of the SSC process, including such items as the number of SSCs constituted, the members of the pool appointed in that year, the distribution of candidates by faculty, and the number of promotions recommended.

Reporting:

Number of SSC's constituted from September 2011to August 2012:	19
Number of promotions recommended:	19
Number of promotions denied:	0
Number of Senate representatives (members of the pool) who served:	14

Faculties	No. of SSC's constituted	No. of promotions recommended	No. of promotions denied	Senate representatives who served
Agricultural & Environmental Sciences	2	2	0	2
Arts	1	1	0	2
Dentistry	0	0	0	1
Education	0	0	0	4
Engineering	1	1	0	1
Law	0	0	0	0
Management	0	0	0	0
Medicine	12	12	0	2
Music	0	0	0	0
Religious Studies	0	0	0	0
Science	3	3	0	2
Libraries	0	0	0	0

Representatives from Senate Pool who Served on SSC's

Gregory Dudek (Science) – 3

Janet Henderson (Medicine) – 3

Jacques Hurtubise (Science) – 2

Catherine Bushnell (Dentistry) – 2

James Fyles (AES) - 2

Margaret Somerville (Law) – 2

David Lowther (Engineering)

Xin Zhao (AES)

Lynn Butler-Kisber (Education)

Robert Bracewell (Education)

Nancy Heath (Education)

Celine Le Bourdais (Arts)

Suzanne Morton (Arts)

Susanne Lajoie (Education)