

Report of the Nominating Committee

Meeting of December 13, 2011 at 9:00 a.m. Meeting Room, James Administration Building

- **Present:** Anthony C. Masi (Chair), Emily Yee Clare, Martin Grant, Terrence Hebert, Jacques Hurtubise, Juliet Johnson, Kevin McDonough, Roland Nassim, Kathryn Peterson
- **Regrets:** Samuel Benaroya, Joan Hobbins, Andrew Kirk, Martin Kreiswirth, Chandra Madramootoo, Christopher Manfredi, Arun Misra, Honora Shaughnessy, Edith Zorychta, Heather Munroe-Blum.

Note to Senators:

- The listing in section 1 below begins with an "Action", calling attention to the recommendation of the Nominating Committee for Senate approval. The name shown <u>underlined</u> is recommended by the Nominating Committee for Senate approval.
- For the 2011-2012 session, Senate has delegated to the Nominating Committee its authority to approve student representatives. The name shown <u>underlined</u> in section 2 was approved at the Nominating Committee meeting and is listed for Senate's information.

1. APPOINTMENTS TO SENATE STANDING COMMITTEES

Committee on Libraries

Action: Approve one representative of Senate to serve on the Committee on Libraries for a term ending in 2014.

Committee on Libraries

Excerpt from the Terms of Reference:

The Committee shall:

1. Recommend to Senate, as appropriate, broad policies concerning the Library in support of the University's strategic plans and academic priorities.

2. Review and advise on planning documents and reports as they relate to the Library and advise Senate and others, as appropriate, on library and information service developments which are of academic significance to the University.

3. Review resource allocation policies as they relate to the Library's strategic plan.

4. Facilitate and advise on communication between the University community and the Library.

5. Meet at least twice per semester during the academic year and submit an annual report to Senate.

Composition

The Provost, Chair The Trenholme Director of Libraries Chairs of the Library Advisory Committees (including Macdonald campus) Three faculty members appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the Senate Nominating Committee Two librarians appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the Senate Nominating Committee One administrative and support staff member from the University Libraries appointed by Senate on the recommendation of the Senate Nominating Committee Student Members: Two undergraduate students One graduate student One Continuing Studies student One student representative of Macdonald Campus Committee Secretary The Provost or delegate, Chair: Professor Nathalie Cooke The Trenholme Dean of Libraries: Professor C. Colleen Cook

Chairs of the Library Advisory Committees (including Macdonald Campus): Professor Andrea Bernasconi (Life Sciences) Professor Martin Chénier (Macdonald Campus) Professor Suzanne Morton (Humanities and Social Sciences) Professor Helge Dedeck (Law) Professor Reghan Hill (Schulich Library)

Three faculty members appointed by Senate: Professor Emily Carson (Arts) – 2013 <u>Professor Guillermina Almazan (Pharmacology & Therapeutics) – 2014</u> Professor Kenneth Ragan (Science) - 2013

Two librarians appointed by Senate: Ms. Natalie Waters, (Macdonald Campus Library) – 2013 Mr. Brian McMillan (Music Library) – 2014

One administrative and support staff member from the University Libraries appointed by Senate: Ms. Joyce Whiting (Humanities and Social Sciences Library) – 2012

Student members: Two undergraduate students: Mr. Yonatan Lipsitz Mr. Tom Acker One graduate student: Mr. Adam Bouchard One Continuing Studies student: TBA One student representative of Macdonald Campus: TBA

2. FOR THE INFORMATION OF SENATE

Nominating Committee's Approval of Student Representatives to Senate Committees

Intellectual Property Appeals Committee

Excerpt from the *Policy on Intellectual Property*:

- 11.1 Intellectual Property Appeals Committee: There shall be an Intellectual Property Appeals Committee that shall hear appeals from decisions of the Vice-Principal (Research) or his or her delegate. The Intellectual Property Appeals Committee shall consist of six members appointed for three-year terms commencing September 1st, staggered, and one student member, appointed for a term of one year.
- 11.2 Appointment of Committee:
- 11.2.1 Prior to the 1st day of April each year, the President of the McGill Association of University Teachers or the President's designate and the Principal or the Principal's designate shall submit to the Senate Nominating Committee a jointly approved slate of names of academics and members of administrative and support staff of the University and/or Board members. This slate shall include at least one and a half times as many names as there are vacancies on the Intellectual Property Appeals Committee to be filled that year.
- 11.2.2 Prior to the 1st day of April of each year, the Executive Chairperson of the Post-Graduate Students' Society of McGill University, and the Principal or the Principal's designate, shall submit to the Senate Nominating Committee a jointly approved list of two names of graduate students, and the name of one undergraduate student.
- 11.2.3 From the slate proposed under section 11.2.1, and except in respect of the vacancy created by the end of the term of the student member, the Senate Nominating Committee shall strike a panel of nominees equal to the number of vacancies to be filled and shall also designate the chair and vice-chair of the Intellectual Property Appeals Committee. The Intellectual Property Appeals Committee shall include academics involved in teaching or research in a suitably broad range of those disciplines generally generating commercialization projects. The Senate Nominating Committee shall also recommend the appointment of one student member from the slate proposed under section 11.2.2.
- 11.2.4 The chair and vice-chair shall be persons qualified by education and experience to make decisions on matters that may be submitted to the Intellectual Property Appeals Committee.
- 11.2.5 The panel thus struck shall be submitted to Senate and to the Board of Governors for approval.
- 11.2.6 In the event of rejection of the panel in whole or in part by Senate or the Board of Governors, the procedure set out in sections 11.2.1 and 11.2.2 shall recommence.

Six members chosen from members jointly agreed to by MAUT and the Principal:

Professor Kenneth Ragan (Science) – 2014

Professor Nigel Roulet (Science) - 2014

Professor Craig Mandato (Medicine) – 2012

Professor Richard Schultz (Arts) – 2012

Professor Stephen Yue (Engineering) - 2013

Professor Bernard Robaire (Medicine), Chair - 2013

One student member: Marie-Elyse Lafaille-Magnan (Integrated Neuroscience)