#### McGILL UNIVERSITY SENATE



# Report of the Nominating Committee

D11-15

Meeting of October 4<sup>th</sup> at 9:00 a.m. Room B, Macdonald Engineering Building

Present: Anthony C. Masi (Chair), Terrence Hebert, Joan Hobbins, Jacques Hurtubise,

Juliet Johnson, Andrew Kirk, Martin Kreiswirth, Chandra Madramootoo, Christopher Manfredi, Kevin McDonough, Kathryn Peterson, Emily Yee Clare,

Stephen Strople (Secretary).

**Regrets:** Samuel Benaroya, Martin Grant, Arun Misra, Heather Munroe-Blum, Honora

Shaughnessy, Edith Zorychta, Roland Nassim.

#### Note to Members:

- Each committee listing below begins with an "Action", calling attention to the recommendation of the Nominating Committee for Senate approval.
- The names shown <u>underlined</u> are recommended by the Nominating Committee for Senate approval.

## DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY TO APPROVE STUDENT REPRESENTATIVES ON SENATE COMMITTEES - 2011-2012

Action: Approve a delegation of authority for the Nominating Committee to approve, in the name of Senate, the student representatives to Senate committees for the remainder of the 2011-2012 governance year.

The Nominating Committee requests that Senate delegate authority to approve student representatives to Senate committees for the remainder of the 2011-2012 year. These names, once approved, would be included in the Nominating Report to Senate for information. The rationale for this request is to allow Senate committees to be populated as quickly as possible.

#### APPOINTMENTS TO SENATE STANDING COMMITTEES

#### **Committee on Student Services**

Action: Approve student Senators to serve a one year term ending August 31, 2012.

Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning), Chair: Professor Morton Mendelson

Executive Director of Services for Students: Ms. Jana Luker

Manager, Finance and Systems, Office of the Dean of Students and Office of the Executive

Director of Services for Students: Mr. Wes Cross

Associate Dean (Student Affairs), Macdonald Campus: Professor David J. Lewis

Two Directors of Student Services:

Ms. Leslie Copeland

Ms. Judy Stymest

Two Associate Deans (Student Affairs and/or Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies):

Professor Heather Durham – 2011

Professor Emine Sarigollu – 2011

Two Representatives appointed by Senate:

Professor Milica Popovic (Engineering) – 2014

Mary Jo McCullogh (Student Accounts) – 2013

Three graduate students:

Ms. Elizabeth Cawley

Ms. Gauthamie Poolokasingham

TBA

Two undergraduate students:

Ms. Carol Fraser

Mr. Usman Bin Shahid

Macdonald Campus:

Ms. Samantha Dimitraki

Four representatives of undergraduate Student Societies (three of whom shall be from Arts, Science, Engineering, Management, or Education):

Ms. Kady Paterson (Education)

Ms. Anna Kourilova (Management)

Ms. Yusra Khan (Arts)

TBA

#### APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES ARISING FROM UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS

### Advisory Committee for the Selection of a Dean of Students

Action: Appointment of two representatives of Senate and two alternates to serve on an Advisory Committee for the Selection of a Dean of Students.

<u>Professor David Lewis (Agricultural and Environmental Sciences)</u> Professor Alison Fournier (Medicine)

Alternates:

Professor John Webb (Engineering)

Professor Nicole Allard (Science).