

Memorandum

Provost Office James Administration Bldg., Room 504 Tel.: 514-398-4177 / Fax: 514-398-4768

TO: FROM: SUBJECT: DATE: DOCUMENT #: ACTION REQUIRED:	Senate Anthony C. Masi, Provost Appointment of Assessors under the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law 22 September 2011 D11-04 □ INFORMATION ☑ APPROVAL/DECISION
ISSUE:	Senate approval of assessors as required by the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law
BACKGROUND & RATIONALE:	 The Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law states that: 4.1 The Provost shall consult with the university-level students' associations, staff associations and unions on the appointment of eight (8) assessors from the University community. The appointment of the Assessors shall be approved by Senate. The Assessors shall report directly to the Provost. 4.2 The Assessors shall be employees or appointees of the University. Four (4) shall be chosen from the members of academic staff and four (4) from the members of administrative and support staff. At least one of the Assessors shall be from Macdonald Campus. 4.2.1 The Provost shall endeavor to have a diverse group of Assessors with an equal representation of the sexes. The current assessors are: Academic Staff Professor Prakash Panangaden (Science) (2010-2012) Professor Gatherine Walsh (Law) (2010-2012) Professor Gatherine Walsh (Law) (2010-2013) Professor Maria Zannis-Hadjopoulos (Medicine) (2010-2013) Ms. Susan Gregus (Bioresource Eng., Macdonald Campus) (2010-2013) Ms. Susan Czarnocki (Libraries) (2011-2014) Alternates: Professor Griet Vankeerberghen (Arts) (2010-2013)

APPENDICES:	N/A
NEXT STEPS:	N/A
PRIOR CONSULTATION:	As required by section 4.1 of the <i>Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law</i> the following groups have been consulted prior to bringing these names to Senate: AGSEM, MAUT, MUNASA, MUNACA, MACES, MCSS, PGSS, SSMU and the seven trades and services unions
	Be it further resolved that Senate approves the appointment of David Syncox, Graduate Education Officer, Teaching and Learning Services to serve as an alternate for a three year term ending August 31, 2014.
MOTION OR RESOLUTION FOR APPROVAL:	Be it resolved that Senate approve the appointment of Andrew Staples (Administrative Assistant, Institute of Islamic Studies) and Elvie Coletta (Manager, Research and Restricted Funds), as assessors chosen from the administrative and support staff under the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law, for three year terms ending August 31, 2014.
	The Policy currently specifies 2 year terms but 3 year terms are proposed on the advice of the assessors who feel that a longer term makes better use of their training and experience. Last year, Senate appointed the new assessors to 3 year terms.
	Two additional assessors chosen from the administrative and support staff are required, as well as one alternate to ensure that a full slate of representatives is available should a member of the administrative and support staff no longer be able to serve. If there are any unexpected vacancies, an alternate may be asked to serve immediately. This follows the procedure used in previous years.