REPORT OF THE SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE McGILL UNIVERSITY

PART A: REGULAR BUSINESS

1. STATUTORY SELECTION COMMITTEE

It is recommended that the following be appointed as representatives of Senate on a Statutory Selection Committee:

a) For a professor in the Department of Anthropology

Professor Céline Le Bourdais (Department of Sociology)
Professor Christopher Green (Department of Economics) [alternate]

Professor Timothy Moore (Department of Geography)
Professor Douglas Watt (Department of Physiology) [alternate]

2. University Tenure Committee For Recruitment 2007 – 2008

(3-year terms commencing September 1)

University Libraries

It is recommended that Mr. Marc Richard (Cataloguing Librarian) be appointed as a member on the University Tenure Committee for Recruitment for University Libraries for a two-year term commencing September 1, 2007.

It is further recommended that Mr. Louis Houle (Schulich Library of Science and Engineering) be appointed as an alternate member on the University Tenure Committee for Recruitment for University Libraries for a three-year term commencing September 1, 2007.

3. ADVISORY COMMITTEES

2.1 FOR THE SELECTION OF A DEAN OF DENTISTRY

It is recommended that Professor Christina Wolfson, Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health, be appointed as a Senate representative to the Advisory Committee for the Selection of a Dean of Dentistry.

Remaining members:

Professor Raynald Gauvin (Mining, Metals and Materials Engineering)

Professor Jorge Vinals (Physics) [alternate]

Professor David Ostry (Psychology) [alternate]

2.2 FOR THE SELECTION OF A DEAN OF LAW

It is recommended that the following be appointed as representatives of Senate on the Advisory Committee for the Selection of a Dean of Law:

Professor Nancy Ross (Geography)

Professor Graham Bell (Biology)

Professor Kathy Cullen (Physiology) [alternate]

Professor Robert Kok (Bioresource Engineering) [alternate]

PART B: FOR THE INFORMATION OF SENATE

1. APPOINTMENT OF ALTERNATE CHAIRS FOR THE UNIVERSITY TENURE COMMITTEE - UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

Ms. Janine Schmidt, Trenholme Director of Libraries, recommends that Mr. Adam Gacek, Head of Islamic Studies Library, be the alternate chair on the University Tenure Committee for Libraries in the event that the director is unable to chair the University Tenure Committee, or is disqualified for cause or conflict of interest.