# REPORT OF THE SENATE STEERING COMMITTEE (Meeting October 2, 2007 in preparation for Senate Meeting, October 10, 2007) McGILL UNIVERSITY

The Provost (Acting Chair) welcomed Professor Michael Smith (re-elected), and new member Mr. John Hobbins.

#### 1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF SENATE

The minutes of the meeting of September 19, 2007 have been circulated. Steering Committee recommends the minutes be approved.

### 2. SPEAKING RIGHTS

Steering Committee recommends that speaking rights be granted to the following colleagues for the meeting of October 10, 2007:

- Professor William Foster to speak to briefly and respond to questions concerning the proposed Regulations Concerning the Investigation of Research Misconduct;
- Professor Rima Rozen to be available to respond to: follow-up questions concerning the question regarding research time stipends; and questions concerning the proposed Regulations Concerning the Investigation of Research Misconduct.

#### 3. COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

Steering Committee recommends that Senate move into Committee of the Whole for 30 minutes following a brief presentation by Professor Foster on the Regulations Concerning the Investigation of Research Misconduct (D07-03). Steering Committee recommends that the Principal remain in the chair for this item.

## 4. DEGREES (APPROVALS)

Steering Committee approved the recommendation of the Secretary-General that the approval of degrees will be brought to Senate for approval beginning in the Spring of 2008. This item has to date been considered by Senate Steering Committee and reported to Senate.

#### 5. JOINT BOARD SENATE COMMITTEE MEETING

Steering Committee reminds Senators of the annual Joint Board Senate Committee meeting, which will focus on the topic of sustainability. Those Senators who have not yet indicated their availability (via email to <a href="mailto-kirsten.martin@mcgill.ca">Kirsten.martin@mcgill.ca</a>) are requested to do so. The meeting will be held on Tuesday, October 30, at 6 p.m. in the ballroom of the Faculty Club.

Present: Mr. Adrian Angus, Professor Kohur GowriSankaran, Mr. John Hobbins, Provost Anthony C. Masi (Acting Chair), Professor Anthony Paré, Professor Bernard Robaire, Professor Michael Smith, Secretary-General Johanne Pelletier (Secretary).

Regrets: Principal Heather Munroe-Blum.

Resource persons: Jennifer Towell, Victoria Meikle.