REPORT* OF THE SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE TO SENATE McGILL UNIVERSITY

*Arising from the March 18, April 15 and May 6, 2008 meetings

FOR THE INFORMATION OF SENATE

UNIVERSITY TENURE COMMITTEES 2008-2009

This is the complete roster of slates effective May 1, 2008. Senate, or Senate Steering Committee, has approved the memberships. The alternate chairs listed here were approved by Senate Nominating Committee on May 6.

a) Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Chair: Dean Chandra Madramootoo

Alternate Chair: Professor Vijaya Raghavan

Senate:

Professor David Harpp (Chemistry) - 2009

Professor Richard J. Munz (Chemical Engineering) - 2009

Professor Ronald Gehr (Civil Engineering and Applied Mechanics) – 2009

Professor Ridha Joober (Psychiatry) – 2009

Professor Lynn Butler-Kisber (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2009

Professor Barbara Hales (Pharmacology and Therapeutics) – 2010

Professor Emine Sarigollu (Management) – 2010

Professor John Galaty (Anthropology) – 2010

Professor Christopher Green (Economics) – 2010

b) Faculty of Arts (approved by Steering Committee)

Chair: Dean Christopher Manfredi

Alternate Chair: TBA

Senate:

Professor Ann J. Beer (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2009

Professor Alfred Jaeger (Management) – 2009

Professor Martin Bressani (Architecture) - 2009

Professor Kathleen Cullen (Physiology) - 2010

Professor David Brown (Urban Planning) – 2010

Professor Julian Wachner (Music, Performance) – 2010

Professor Rod Macdonald (Law) - 2010

Professor Barbara Sherwin (Psychology) - 2010

Professor Hope Weiler (Dietetics and Human Nutrition) (consent not yet obtained)

c) Faculty of Dentistry

Chair: Dean Paul Allison (from June 1, 2008)

Alternate Chair: TBA

Senate:

Professor Bantwal R. Baliga (Mechanical Engineering) – 2009 Professor Jean Gotman (Neurology and Neurosurgery) – 2009

Professor Theo van de Ven (Chemistry) - 2010

Professor Roy Lyster (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2010

Professor Philippe Depalle (Music Research) – 2010 Professor Grace Fong (East Asian Studies) – 2010

d) Faculty of Education

Chair: Dean Jamshid Beheshti (interim)

Alternate Chair: Professor Gregory Reid (Committee #1), Professor Kevin McDonough (Committee #2)

Senate:

Professor Charles Gale (Physics) – 2009

Professor Paul J. Allison (Dentistry) - 2009

Professor Bruce Pike (Neurology and Neurosurgery) – 2009

Professor Laurent Mydlarski (Mechanical Engineering) – 2010

Professor Linda Wykes (Dietetics and Human Nutrition) – 2010

Professor Suzanne Morton, (History) - 2010

Professor Shanling Li (Management) – 2010

Professor James Coulton (Microbiology and Immunology) – 2010

Professor Alain Cazes (Music) - 2010

e) Faculty of Engineering

Chair: Dean Christophe Pierre

Alternate Chair: TBA

Senate:

Professor Peter Brown (Geography) – 2009

Professor H. Patrick Glenn (Law) - 2009

Professor Charles Palmer Larson (Pediatrics) - 2009

Professor John Rea (Music Research) - 2009

Professor Marc McKee (Dentistry) - 2009

Professor Marilyn Scott (Parasitology) - 2010

Professor Jorge Vinals (Physics) - 2010

Professor Steven Jordan (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2010

Professor Robyn Tamblyn (Medicine) - 2010

f) Faculty of Law

Chair: Dean Nicholas Kasirer

Alternate Chair: Professor Rosalie Jukier

Senate:

Professor Michael Ngadi (Bioresource Engineering) – 2009 Professor André Olivier (Neurology and Neurosurgery) – 2009 Professor Joe Kincheloe (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2009

Professor Margaret Graham (Management) – 2010 Professor André Costopolous (Anthropology) – 2010 Professor Axel Van den Berg (Sociology) – 2010

g) Faculty of Management

Chair: Dean Peter Todd Alternate Chair: TBA

Senate:

Professor Francisco D. Galiana (Electrical and Computer Engineering) – 2009

Professor Daniel Parent (Economics) – 2009 Professor John Abela (Psychology) – 2009

Professor Roger K. Prichard (Parasitology) – 2009

Professor Ken Ragan (Physics) - 2010

Professor Katheleen Glass (Biomedical Ethics Unit) - 2010

h) Faculty of Medicine

Chair: Dean Richard I. Levin

Alternate Chair: Professor Jeffrey Barkun

Senate:

Professor Hanadi Sleiman (Chemistry) – 2009

Professor Anthony E. Williams-Jones (Earth and Planetary Sciences) - 2009

Professor Carolyn E. Turner (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2009

Professor Urs Kuhnlein (Animal Science) – 2009 Professor Peter Chauvin (Dentistry) – 2009

Professor Stephen Yue (Mining and Materials Engineering) – 2009

Professor Caroline Palmer (Psychology) – 2010 Professor Siegfried Hekimi (Biology) – 2010

Professor Jim Fyles (Natural Resource Sciences) - 2010

i) Schulich School of Music (approved by Steering Committee)

Chair: Dean Donald McLean

Alternate Chair: Professor John Rea (Committee #1); Professor John Grew (Committee #2)

Senate:

Professor Rodger Titman (Natural Resource Sciences) – 2009

Professor Nafiz Vedat Verter (Management) – 2009

Professor Luc Mongeau (Mechanical Engineering) – 2010

Professor Patricia Kirkpatrick (Religious Studies) - 2010

Professor John Galbraith (Economics) - 2010

Professor Dimitrios Berk (Chemical Engineering) - 2010

Professor Katrine Stewart (Plant Science) - 2010

Professor Shirley Steinberg (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2010

Professor Emily Carson (Philosophy) - 2010

j) Faculty of Religious Studies

Chair: Dean Ellen Aitken

Alternate Chair: Professor Torrance Kirby

Senate:

Professor Ghyslaine McClure (Civil Engineering and Applied Mechanics) - 2009

Professor Michael John Sullivan (Psychology) - 2009

Professor Erika Gisel (Physical and Occupational Therapy) – 2009

Professor Simon Young, (Psychiatry)– 2010 Professor Elizabeth Elbourne (History) – 2010

Professor Ingrid Sladeczek (Educational and Counselling Psychology) – 2010

k) Faculty of Science

Chair: Dean Martin Grant Alternate Chair: TBA

Senate:

Professor Armando Jardim (Parasitology) – 2009

Professor Robert Bracewell (Educational and Counselling Psychology) – 2009

Professor Colin Andrew Rogers (Civil Engineering and Applied Mechanics) – 2009

Professor Hugh Bennett (Medicine) – 2009 Professor Alan Watson (Plant Science) – 2009

Professor Jim Finch (Mining and Materials Engineering) – 2009 (one year term)

Professor Dennis Klinck (Law) - 2009 (one year term)

Professor David Ragsdale (Neurobiology and Neurology & Neurosurgery) – 2010

Professor Tamar Boyaci (Management) - 2010

I) McGill University Libraries

Chair: Ms. Janine Schmidt **Alternate Chair:** TBA

Senate:

Professor Berkeley Kaite (English) – 2009 Professor William S. Powell (Medicine) – 2009 Professor Elias Georges (Parasitology) – 2009

Professor Faith Wallis (Social Studies of Medicine) – 2010