# REPORT\* OF THE SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE TO SENATE McGILL UNIVERSITY

\*Recommendations arising from the March 18 and April 15, 2008 meetings

#### I. FOR APPROVAL BY SENATE AS RECOMMENDED BY SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

#### 1. STATUTORY SELECTION COMMITTEES

It is recommended that the following be appointed as representatives of Senate on a Statutory Selection Committee:

a) For a professor in the Department of Medicine

Professor Maureen Simmonds (School of Physical and Occupational Therapy)
Professor Jean Gotman (Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery) [alternate]

Professor Donald Kramer (Department of Biology)
Professor Lauren Chapman (Department of Biology) [alternate]

b) For a professor in the Department of Medicine

Professor Shari Baum (School of Communication Sciences and Disorders) Professor Laurence Kirmayer (Department of Psychiatry) [alternate]

Professor Mary MacKinnon (Department of Economics)
Professor George Grantham (Department of Economics) [alternate]

c) For a professor in the Departments of Medicine and Human Genetics

Professor Philip Barker (Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery) Professor Walter Mushynski (Department of Biochemistry) [alternate]

Professor Gerald Pollack (Department of Biology)
Professor Bruce Lennox (Department of Chemistry) [alternate]

d) For a professor in the Department of Medicine and the School of Physical and Occupational Therapy

Professor Jack Antel (Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery) Professor Jacques Corcos (Department of Surgery) [alternate]

Professor Yuriko Oshima-Takane (Department of Psychology)
Professor Siegfried Hekimi (Department of Biology) [alternate]

e) For a professor in the Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery

Professor Ellis Cooper (Department of Physiology)
Professor Paul Clarke (Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics) [alternate]

Professor Michel Loreau (Department of Biology)
Professor Timothy Moore (Department of Geography) [alternate]

## f) For a professor in the Department of Anesthesia

Professor Gerald Fried (Department of Surgery)
Professor Francis Gloriux (Department of Surgery) [alternate]

Professor Keith Franklin (Department of Psychology)
Professor Mark Baldwin (Department of Psychology) [alternate]

## g) For a professor in the Department of Psychology

Professor Mark Brawley (Department of Political Science)
Professor Ronald Chase (Department of Biology) [alternate]

Professor Mary Dean Lee (Desautels Faculty of Management)
Professor Georg Schmidt (Department of Mathematics and Statistics) [alternate]

# 2. Annual Review of University Tenure Committees

Underlined names are for approval.

## a) Faculty of Law

Chair: Dean Nicholas Kasirer

### Senate:

Professor Michael Ngadi (Bioresource Engineering) - 2009

Professor André Olivier (Neurology and Neurosurgery) – 2009

Professor Joe Kincheloe (Integrated Studies in Education) - 2009

Professor Margaret Graham (Management) - 2010

Professor André Costopolous (Anthropology) - 2010

Professor Axel Van den Berg (Sociology) - 2010

### b) Faculty of Management

Chair: Dean Peter Todd

#### Senate:

Professor Francisco D. Galiana (Electrical and Computer Engineering) – 2009

Professor Daniel Parent (Economics) - 2009

Professor John Abela (Psychology) – 2009

Professor Roger K. Prichard (Parasitology) - 2009

Professor Ken Ragan (Physics) - 2010

Professor Katheleen Glass (Biomedical Ethics Unit) - 2010

# c) Faculty of Medicine

Chair: Dean Richard I. Levin

#### Senate:

Professor Hanadi Sleiman (Chemistry) - 2009

Professor Anthony E. Williams-Jones (Earth and Planetary Sciences) - 2009

Professor Carolyn E. Turner (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2009

Professor Urs Kuhnlein (Animal Science) – 2009

Professor Peter Chauvin (Dentistry) – 2009

Professor Stephen Yue (Mining, Metals, and Materials Engineering) – 2009

Professor Caroline Palmer (Psychology) – 2010

Professor Siegfried Hekimi (Biology) – 2010

Professor Jim Fyles (Natural Resource Sciences) - 2010

## d) Faculty of Science

Chair: Dean Martin Grant

Senate:

Professor Armando Jardim (Parasitology) - 2009

Professor Robert Bracewell (Educational and Counselling Psychology) - 2009

Professor Colin Andrew Rogers (Civil Engineering and Applied Mechanics) – 2009

Professor Hugh Bennett (Medicine) – 2009

Professor Alan Watson (Plant Science) - 2009

Professor Jim Finch (Mining and Materials Engineering) – 2009 (one year term)

Professor Dennis Klinck (Law) - 2009 (one year term)

Professor David Ragsdale (Neurobiology) AND (Neurology and Neurosurgery) – 2010

Professor Tamar Boyaci (Management) - 2010

# Attendance at April 15, 2008 meeting:

Present: Prof. Anthony Masi (Chair), Mr. Adrian Angus, Prof. Vikram Bhatt, Prof. Robert Bracewell, Prof. Ian Butler, Prof. Ronald Gehr, Dean Martin Grant, Dr. Harry Karmouty, Dean Martin Kreiswirth, Prof. John Kurien, Dean Christopher Manfredi, Prof. Timothy Moore, Ms. Kathryn Peterson, Dean Christophe Pierre, Mr. Marc Richard, Prof. Beverlea Tallant, Prof. Maria Zannis-Hadjopoulos, Ms. Johanne Pelletier.

Regrets: Dean Richard Levin, Dean Chandra Madramootoo, Principal Heather Munroe-Blum.