REPORT* OF THE SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE TO SENATE McGILL UNIVERSITY

*Recommendations arising from the March 18, 2008 meeting

I. FOR APPROVAL BY SENATE AS RECOMMENDED BY SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

1. STATUTORY SELECTION COMMITTEES

It is recommended that the following be appointed as representatives of Senate on Statutory Selection Committees:

a) For a professor in the Department of Psychology

Professor Mark Brawley (Department of Political Science) Professor Ronald Chase (Department of Biology) [alternate]

Professor Mary Dean Lee (Desautels Faculty of Management) Professor Gregory Brown (Department of Biology) [alternate]

b) For a professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Professor Robert Brandenberger (Department of Physics) Professor Nigel Roulet (School of Environment) [alternate]

Professor Alan Evans (Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery) Professor Frank Ferrie (Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering) [alternate]

2. Annual Review of University Tenure Committees

Underlined names are for approval.

a) Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Chair: Dean Chandra Madramootoo
Senate:
Professor David Harpp (Chemistry) – 2009
Professor Richard J. Munz (Chemical Engineering) – 2009
Professor Ronald Gehr (Civil Engineering and Applied Mechanics) – 2009
Professor Ridha Joober (Medicine) – 2009
Professor Lynn Butler-Kisber (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2009
Professor Barbara Hales (Pharmacology and Therapeutics) – 2010
Professor Emine Sarigollu (Management) – 2010
Professor John Galaty (Anthropology) – 2010
Professor Christopher Green (Economics) – 2010

b) Faculty of Dentistry

Chair: Dean James Lund Senate: Professor Bantwal R. Baliga (Mechanical Engineering) – 2009 Professor Jean Gotman (Neurology and Neurosurgery) – 2009 Professor Theo van de Ven (Chemistry) – 2010 Professor Roy Lyster (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2010 Professor Philippe Depalle (Music) – 2010 Professor Grace Fong (East Asian Studies) – 2010

c) Faculty of Education

Chair: Dean Jamshid Beheshti (interim) Senate: Professor Charles Gale (Physics) – 2009 Professor Paul J. Allison (Dentistry) – 2009 Professor Bruce Pike (Neurology and Neurosurgery) – 2009 Professor Laurent Mydlarski (Mechanical Engineering) – 2010 Professor Linda Wykes (Dietetics and Human Nutrition) – 2010 Professor Suzanne Morton, (History) – 2010 Professor Shanling Li (Management) – 2010 Professor James Coulton (Microbiology and Immunology) – 2010 Professor Alain Cazes (Music) – 2010

d) Faculty of Engineering

Chair: Dean Christophe Pierre Senate: Professor Peter Brown (Geography) – 2009 Professor H. Patrick Glenn (Law) – 2009 Professor Charles Palmer Larson (Pediatrics) – 2009 Professor John Rea (Music) – 2009 Professor Marc McKee (Dentistry) – 2009 Professor Marilyn Scott (Parasitology) – 2010 reappointment Professor Jorge Vinals (Physics) – 2010 Professor Steven Jordan (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2010 Professor Robyn Tamblyn (Medicine) – 2010

e) Faculty of Medicine

Chair: Dean Richard I. Levin Senate: Professor Hanadi Sleiman (Chemistry) – 2009 Professor Anthony E. Williams-Jones (Earth and Planetary Sciences) – 2009 Professor Carolyn E. Turner (Integrated Studies in Education) – 2009 Professor Urs Kuhnlein (Animal Science) – 2009 Professor Peter Chauvin (Dentistry) – 2009 Professor Stephen Yue (Mining, Metals, and Materials Engineering) – 2009 Professor Caroline Palmer (Psychology) – 2010 Professor Siegfried Hekimi (Biology) – 2010 Professor Elias Georges (Parasitology) – 2010

f) Faculty of Religious Studies

Chair: Dean Ellen Aitken Senate: Professor Ghyslaine McClure (Civil Engineering and Applied Mechanics) – 2009 Professor Michael John Sullivan (Psychology) – 2009 Professor Erika Gisel (Physical and Occupational Therapy) – 2009 Professor Simon Young, (Psychiatry)– 2010 Professor Elizabeth Elbourne (History) – 2010 Professor Ingrid Sladeczek (Educational and Counselling Psychology) – 2010

g) McGill University Libraries

Chair: Ms. Janine Schmidt Senate: Professor Berkeley Kaite (English) – 2009 Professor William S. Powell (Medicine) – 2009 Professor Elias Georges (Parasitology) – 2009 Professor Faith Wallis (Social Studies of Medicine) – 2010

II. FOR INFORMATION OF SENATE

1. Appointment of Senate Representatives to Statutory Selection Committees (SSC)

In the fall of 2007 the Provost recommended to Senate Nominating that the Senate nominations to the SSCs not include members from the same faculty where the candidate was from a small faculty.

Recall that an SSC is composed of two representatives of the Board of Governors, two Vice-Principals, the Dean of the faculty in which the appointment is to be made (or in the case of an appointment of a librarian, the Trenholme Director of Libraries), two members selected by Senate, and other members "as the Principal may see fit". The practice has been that one of the Senate members be from the same faculty as the candidate – this is however not a requirement of any regulations and has varied in its application over the last year.

Senate Nominating Committee discussed the Provost's recommendation and decided that Senate nominees to the SSC's should in general not be from the same faculty as the candidate. The premise for the decision was:

-that like University Tenure Committees, the principle of the SSC was the application of University standard for promotion, so that discipline-specific input was not relevant in the deliberation.

Following a question from Senator Hobbins on the decision, Senate Nominating Committee deliberated once again (at its March 18th meeting), affirming the above decision, with the proviso that Senate Nominating Committee will exercise its judgement on the nominations proposed, but that there will be no automatic reflex to the practice of having a member of the faculty concerned among the Senate nominees.

Present: Prof. Anthony Masi, Dean Chandra Madramootoo, Dean Christopher Manfredi, Dean Christophe Pierre, Dean Martin Grant, Ms. Kathryn Peterson, Prof. Robert Bracewell, Prof. Beverlea Tallant, Prof. Timothy Moore, Prof. John Kurien, Prof. Ronald Gehr, Mr. Marc Richard, Prof. Maria Zannis-Hadjopoulos, Mr. Adrian Angus, Ms. Johanne Pelletier.

Regrets: Principal Heather Munroe-Blum, Dean Chandra Madramootoo, Dr. Harry Karmouty, Prof. Vikram Bhatt, Prof. Ian Butler, Dean Martin Kreiswirth, Dean Richard Levin.