REPORT* OF THE SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE TO SENATE McGILL UNIVERSITY

*Recommendations arising from the October 16, 2007 meeting

I. FOR APPROVAL BY SENATE AS RECOMMENDED BY SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

1. STATUTORY SELECTION COMMITTEES

It is recommended that the following be appointed as representatives of Senate on Statutory Selection Committees:

For a professor in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences:

Professor John Gyakum (Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences) Professor Timothy Moore (Department of Geography) [alternate]

Professor Christopher Green (Department of Economics)
Professor William Hendershot (Department of Natural Resource Sciences) [alternate]

For a professor in the School of Social Work:

Professor Suzanne Morton (Department of History)
Professor Maggie Kilgour (Department of English) [alternate]

Professor Katharine Young (Faculty of Religious Studies)
Professor Blaine Baker (Faculty of Law) [alternate]

2. COMMITTEE ON STUDENT GRIEVANCES

Appointment required is for a graduate student member.

It is recommended that Mr. Eric Pollanen be appointed to the Committee on Student Grievances as a graduate student representative for a term starting immediately and ending August 31, 2008.

3. COMMITTEE ON STUDENT DISCIPLINE

Appointments required are for a Vice-Chair and for an additional member of the Committee should the Vice-Chair be selected from among the membership.

It is recommended that Professor Lynn Butler-Kisber, Department of Integrated Studies in Education, be appointed Vice-Chair of the Committee (Professor Butler-Kisber is a current member of the Committee term ends on August 31, 2010);

It is further recommended that Professor Peter Button, Department of East Asian Studies, be appointed to the Committee for a term starting immediately and ending August 31, 2010.

4. INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY APPEALS COMMITTEE

Appointment required of a student member (the recommendation below is with the agreement of the PGSS and the SSMU).

It is recommended that Ms. Trudi Wright be appointed to the Committee as a student representative for a term starting immediately and ending August 31, 2008.

5. HONORARY DEGREES AND CONVOCATIONS COMMITTEE

Appointment required of a student member (the recommendation below is with the agreement of the PGSS and the SSMU).

It is recommended that Ms. Sina Gallo be appointed to the Committee as one of two student members for a term starting immediately and ending August 31, 2008.

6. ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON THE SELECTION OF AN OMBUDSPERSON

The Committee noted that this is not a Statutory Advisory Committee but a reflection of McGill practice in the selection of an Ombudsperson, calling for representatives of the Senate.

It is recommended that Professor Ian Butler, Department of Chemistry, and Professor Jane Everett, Dean of Students be appointed to the Advisory Committee on the Selection of an Ombudsperson for a term starting immediately.

Membership

Anthony C. Masi, Provost (Chair)

Jane Everett, Dean of Students, member of Senate;
Fabian Gélinas, Professor, Faculty of Law;
Sally McDougall, member, Board of Governors;
Adrian Angus, SSMU Representative;
Sally Kilbourn, PGSS Representative;
lan Butler, member, Senate;
Roshi Chadha, member, Board of Governors.

II FOR INFORMATION

1. ALTERNATE CHAIR OF THE UNIVERSITY TENURE COMMITTEE – DESAUTELS FACULTY OF MANAGEMENT

Senate Nominating Committee has approved Professor Vihang Errunza as alternate Chair for the University Tenure Committee – Desautels Faculty of Management (2007-2008).

2. ELECTIONS TO SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The Secretary-General reported that a call for nominations was issued for the remaining position on the Committee.

Update following the meeting for the information of Senate: No nominations were received for this second call. Following consultation with Senate Steering Committee, an extension to the deadline for nominations was announced – three nominations have been received and an election for the remaining position is underway. The current membership is noted here for information.

The Principal [Heather Munroe-Blum]

The Provost [Professor Anthony C. Masi]

The Dean of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences [Professor Chandra Madramootoo]

The Dean of Arts [Professor Christopher Manfredi]

The Dean of Engineering [Professor Christophe Pierre]

The Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies [Professor Martin Kreiswirth]

The Dean of Medicine [Professor Richard I. Levin]

The Dean of Science [Professor Martin Grant]

Ten elected staff members of Senate:

Professor Vikram Bhatt - 2008

Ms. Kathryn Peterson – 2008

Professor Robert Bracewell - 2008

Professor Beverlea Tallant - 2008

Professor Timothy R. Moore - 2009

Professor John Kurien - 2009

Professor Ronald Gehr – 2009

Mr. Marc Richard - 2009

Professor Maria Zannis-Hadjopoulos – 2009

<u>t.b.e.</u>

Undergraduate student: Mr. Adrian Angus (2008) Graduate student: Dr. Harry Karmouty (2008)

3. Nominating Committee Terms of Reference – Review

The Secretary-General reported to Senate Nominating on the work of the Senate Review Working Group and noted an interim report on amendments to Senate committee terms of reference is expected at its November 2007 meeting. The Committee provided feedback on the Nominating Committee terms of reference and suggested that they be reviewed again at the next meeting.

PRESENT: Munroe-Blum (Chair), Anthony Masi, Christopher Manfredi, Chandra Madramootoo, Martin Kreiswirth,

Martin Grant, Kathryn Peterson, Robert Bracewell, Beverlea Tallant, John Kurien, Harry Karmouty,

Marc Richard, Maria Zannis-Hadjopoulos, Johanne Pelletier (Secretary).

REGRETS: Vikram Bhatt, Ronald Gehr, Richard Levin, Tim Moore.