

McGILL UNIVERSITY SENATE

Memorandum

Office of the Provost and VP (Academic) James Administration Building, Room 504 Tel: 514-398-4177 | Fax: 514-398-4768

то:	Senate
FROM:	Professor Angela Campbell, Associate Provost (Equity & Academic Policies)
SUBJECT:	Appointment of Assessors under the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law
DATE:	December 5, 2018
DOCUMENT #:	D18-26
ACTION REQUIRED:	□ INFORMATION
ISSUE	Senate approval of assessors as required by the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law ("the Policy").
BACKGROUND & RATIONALE	The Policy states that:5.1.1 The Provost shall consult with the university-level student associations, staff associations and unions on the appointment of at least ten (10) Assessors from the University community. The appointment of
	 5.1.2 The Assessors shall be employees or appointees of the University. Half shall be chosen from the members of academic staff and half from the members of administrative and support staff (excluding staff in academic administrative appointments). At least one of the Assessors shall be from Macdonald Campus.
	 5.1.2.1 The Provost shall endeavour to have a diverse group of Assessors reflective of the diversity of the University Community. Current harassment assessors appointed under the Policy are: Academic Staff Luis Agellon (Agricultural and Environmental Sciences) (2016-2019) Eamon Duffy (University Libraries) (2016-2018) Sara Laimon (Schulich School of Music) (2018-2021) Petra Rohrbach (Agricultural and Environmental Sciences) (2017-2020) Brian Rubineau (Desautels Faculty of Management) (2017-2020)

	Administrative and Support Staff Anne-Marie Huynh (University Advancement) (2017-2020) Cindy Mancuso (Student Services) (2018-2021) John Poliquin (Human Resources) (2016-2019) Ines Scharweber (Faculty of Arts) (2017-2020) One current assessor will complete his term on 31 December 2018 and two others have resigned. Three assessors are thus required to fill these vacancies.
	This resolution proposes the approval of two of the three required new Assessors under the Policy for 3-year terms that would begin on 1 January 2019. A third nomination will be presented early in 2019.
	1. Chidinma Offoh-Robert (Faculty of Engineering): Director of Administration for Engineering, with an academic background in higher educational administration, comparative education, and cultural perspectives in higher education. Dr. Offoh-Robert is a Faculty Equity Ambassador for Engineering. She has overseen the implementation of many student-focused equity initiatives in Engineering focused on improving the recruitment and retention of students from underrepresented populations.
	2. Erica Moodie (Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health): William Dawson Scholar and Associate Professor of Biostatistics. Professor Moodie is currently the Chair of the Statistical Society of Canada's "Respectful SSC" committee, tasked with developing policies and a code of conduct to ensure SSC remains a safe and respectful society.
PRIOR CONSULTATION	As required by section 5.1.1 of the Policy the following groups were consulted prior to bringing these names to Senate to approval: AGSEM, AMURE, AMUSE, MAUT, MUNASA, MUNACA, MACES, MCLIU, MCSS, PGSS, SACOMSS, SEDE, SSMU and the five trades and services unions.
SUSTAINABILITY CONSIDERATIONS	From a social sustainability perspective, the appointment and training as harassment assessors of community members sensitive to equity and diversity considerations will ensure the effective application of the Policy.
IMPACT OF DECISION AND NEXT STEPS	Training for new and current members to ensue.
MOTION OR RESOLUTION FOR APPROVAL	Be it resolved that Senate approve the appointments of Chidinma Offoh-Robert and Erica Moodie for a three-year term beginning 1 January 2019 and ending 31 December 2021, as assessors under the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law.
APPENDICES	N/A