

# McGILL UNIVERSITY SENATE

# **Nominating Committee**

REPORT ON APPOINTMENTS

D18-60

Meeting of April 2, 2019 at 9:00 a.m. James Administration Building, Room 302

Present: Bruno Belzile, David Eidelman, Eleanor Elstein, Anja Geitmann, Kenneth Hastings,

Terry Hébert, Christopher Manfredi (Chair), Momar Ndao, Brenda Ravenscroft, Bernard

Robaire, Alenoush Saroyan, Jacob Shapiro, Nellie Voudouris.

Regrets: Angela Campbell, Bruce Lennox, Antonia Maioni, Josephine Nalbantoglu, Dilson

Rassier, Eran Shor, Sameer Zuberi.

# 1. FOR THE APPROVAL OF SENATE

#### 1.1 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES ARISING FROM UNIVERSITY REGULATIONS

# 1.1.1 <u>University Tenure Committees</u>

#### RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the appointments of the following professors to the *University Tenure Committees* (Senate **Pool**), each for terms beginning May 1, 2019 and ending April 30, 2022:

Peter Chauvin (DENTISTRY) Richard Hovey (DENTISTRY) Jocelyne Feine (DENTISTRY) Paul Allison (DENTISTRY)

#### **MEMBERSHIP:**

#### 2020

Erin Strumpf (Economics, ARTS) – 2020

Darin David Barney (Art History & Communications, ARTS) – 2020

Faleh Tamimi (DENTISTRY) – 2020

Luis Miranda-Moreno (Civil Engineering & Applied Mechanics, ENGINEERING) – 2020

Víctor Muñiz-Fraticelli (LAW) – 2020

Mark Walters (LAW) – 2020

Tomislav Friscic (Chemistry, SCIENCE) – 2020

Andrew Hendry (Biology, SCIENCE) – 2020

Anthony Ricciardi (Redpath Museum/McGill School of Environment, SCIENCE) – 2020

#### 2021

Elena Bennett (Natural Resource Sciences/McGill School of Environment, AES) – 2021

Elias Georges (Institute of Parasitology, AES) – 2021

Mark Lefsrud (Bioresource Engineering, AES) – 2021

Vilceu Bordignon (Animal Science, AES) – 2021

Erik Kuhonta (Political Science, ARTS) – 2021

Gaëlle Fiasse (Joint Philosophy & School of Religious Studies, ARTS) – 2021

Ji Zhang (DENTISTRY) – 2021

John Blomfield (DENTISTRY) – 2021

Dennis Jensen (Kinesiology and Physical Education, EDUCATION) – 2021

Elizabeth Wood (Integrated Studies in Education, EDUCATION) – 2021

Eric Caplan (Integrated Studies in Education, EDUCATION) – 2021

Martin Drapeau (Educational and Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION) – 2021

Nathan Hall (Educational and Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION) – 2021

Andrew Higgins (Mechanical Engineering, ENGINEERING)

Derek Nowrouzezahrai (Electrical and Computer Engineering, ENGINEERING)

Lisa Bornstein (Urban Planning, ENGINEERING)

Marta Cerruti (Materials Engineering, ENGINEERING)

Brian Havel (LAW)

Kirsten Anker (LAW)

Lonnie Weatherby (LIBRARIES)

Louise Robertson (LIBRARIES)

Megan Chellew (LIBRARIES)

Kunsoo Han (MANAGEMENT)

Anne-Marie Lauzon (Medicine, MEDICINE)

Elizabeth Fixman (Medicine, MEDICINE)

Gillian Bartlett-Esquilant (Family Medicine, MEDICINE)

Patricia Tonin (Medicine, MEDICINE)

Robert Hess (Ophthalmology, MEDICINE)

Christoph Neidhofer (Music Research, MUSIC)

Nicole Biamonte (Music Research, MUSIC)

Roe-Min Kok (Music Research, MUSIC)

Adrian Vetta (Mathematics and Statistics/Computer Science, SCIENCE)

Jackie Vogel (Biology, SCIENCE)

Johanna Neslehova (Mathematics and Statistics, SCIENCE)

#### 2022

Kevin Wade (Animal Science, AES)

Reza Salavati (Parasitology, AES)

Jaswinder Singh (Plant Science, AES)

Ashraf Ismail (Food Science and Agricultural Chemistry, AES)

Stan Kubow (Human Nutrition, AES)

Peter Chauvin (DENTISTRY)

Richard Hovey (DENTISTRY)

Jocelyne Feine (DENTISTRY)

Paul Allison (DENTISTRY)

Annette Korner (Educational & Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION)

Ada Sinacore (Educational & Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION)

Anila Asghar (Integrated Studies in Education, EDUCATION)

Aziz Choudry (Integrated Studies in Education, EDUCATION)

Jun Song (Mining & Materials Engineering, ENGINEERING)

Mustafa Kumral (Mining & Materials Engineering, ENGINEERING)

Anne Kietzig (Chemical Engineering, ENGINEERING)

YaoYao Fiona Zhao (Mechanical Engineering, ENGINEERING)

Jaye Ellis (LAW)

Lara Khoury (LAW)

Carole Urbain (LIBRARIES)

Joseph Hafner (LIBRARIES)

Eamon Duffy (LIBRARIES)

Animesh Animesh (MANAGEMENT)

Ruslan Goyenko (MANAGEMENT)

Paola Perez-Aleman (MANAGEMENT)

Sergei Sarkissian (MANAGEMENT)

Hamid Etemad (MANAGEMENT)

Heather Durham (Neurology & Neurosurgery, MEDICINE)

Hugh Clarke (Obstetrics & Gynecology, MEDICINE)

Kathleen Mullen (Ophthalmology, MEDICINE)

Gerard Pelletier (Biochemistry, MEDICINE)

Jon Wild (Research, MUSIC)

Matt Haimovitz (Performance, MUSIC)

Patrick Hansen (Performance, MUSIC)

Kyoko Hashimoto (Performance, MUSIC)

Axel Strauss (Performance, MUSIC)

Richard Stoelzel (Performance, MUSIC)

Paul François (Physics, SCIENCE)

Melanie Dirks (Psychology, SCIENCE)

Alanna Watt (Biology, SCIENCE)

# 1.1.2 <u>Committee on Student Discipline</u>

#### RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the appointments of Professors Elsbeth Heaman, Tamara Western, James Martin, and Michael Hoover as members of the Committee on Student Discipline each for terms beginning September 1, 2019 and ending August 31, 2022.

# MEMBERSHIP (AS OF SEPTEMBER 1, 2019):

The Dean of Students – Professor Christopher Buddle

The Associate Dean of Students - Mr. Glenn Zabowski

Professor Michael Hendricks (Biology, SCIENCE) – 2020 – Vice-Chair

Professor Hamid Etemad (MANAGEMENT) - 2020

Professor Richard Leask (Chemical Engineering, ENGINEERING) – 2021 – Chair

Professor Antonia Arnaert (Nursing, MEDICINE) - 2021

Ms. Kathy Roulet (School of Environment, FAES) - 2021

Professor Jason Carmichael (Sociology, ARTS) – 2021

Professor Elsbeth Heaman (History and Classical Studies, ARTS) – 2022

Professor Tamara Western (Biology, SCIENCE) – 2022

Professor James Martin (Medicine, MEDICINE) – 2022

Professor Michael Hoover (Educational and Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION) – 2022

Three or more legal assessors:

Ms. Didem Dogar - 2020

Professor Richard Janda - 2021

**TBD** 

Five SSMU representatives: TBD

Three PGSS representatives: TBD

Two MCSS representatives: TBD

Two MACES representatives:TBD

Secretary: Mr. Dylan Bertus

#### 1.2 APPOINTMENTS TO ADVISORY COMMITTEES

# 1.2.1 Advisory Committee for the Possible Reappointment of the Dean of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

# RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the appointments of Professor Dusica Maysinger and Professor Nathaniel Quitoriano as alternate members of the Advisory Committee for the Possible Reappointment of the Dean of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

# MEMBERSHIP:

- Professor Catherine Desbarats (History and Classical Studies, ARTS)
- Professor Barbara Hales (Pharmacology & Therapeutics, MEDICINE)
- Professor Galen Halverson (Earth & Planetary Sciences, SCIENCE)
- Professor Jonathan Britt (Psychology, SCIENCE)
- Professor Dusica Maysinger (Pharmacology and Therapeutics, MEDICINE) [alternate]
- Professor Nathaniel Quitoriano (Materials Engineering, ENGINEERING) [alternate]

# 1.2.2 <u>Advisory Committee for the Possible Reappointment of the Dean of Graduate and</u> Postdoctoral Studies

# RECOMMENDATIONS

Approve the appointments of the following Professors to the Advisory Committee for the Possible Reappointment of the Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies:

- Laura Nilson (Associate Dean, Graduate Education; Biology, SCIENCE)
- Ian Strachan (Associate Dean, Graduate Education; Natural Resource Science, FAES / cross-appointed to Geography, SCIENCE)
- Julie Côté (Kinesiology and Physical Education, EDUCATION)
- Catherine Lu (Political Science, ARTS)
- Lena Weman (Associate Dean (Acting), Graduate Studies in Music; Performance, MUSIC)
- Celia Greenwood (Oncology; Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health; Human Genetics, MEDICINE / Quantitative Life Sciences)
- Meyer Nahon (Mechanical Engineering, ENGINEERING)
- Thomas Durcan (Neurology and Neurosurgery, MEDICINE / MNI)
- Gregor Fussmann (Biology, SCIENCE) [alternate]
- Nancy Heath (Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies; Educational & Counselling Psychology, EDUCATION) [alternate]