

Memorandum

Office of the Provost and Vice-Principal (Academic)

James Administration Building, Room 504 Tel: 514-398-4177 | Fax: 514-398-4768

TO: Senate

FROM: Angela Campbell, Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures and Equity)

SUBJECT: Appointment of Assessors under the *Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment*

and Discrimination Prohibited by Law

DATE: April 20, 2016

DOCUMENT #: D15-53

ACTION ☐ INFORMATION ☐ APPROVAL/DECISION

REQUIRED:

ISSUE

Senate approval of assessors as required by the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law (the "Policy").

BACKGROUND & RATIONALE

The Policy states that:

- **5.1.1** The Provost shall consult with the university-level student associations, staff associations and unions on the appointment of at least eight (8) Assessors from the University community. The appointment of the Assessors shall be approved by Senate. The Assessors shall report directly to the Provost.
- **5.1.2** The Assessors shall be employees or appointees of the University. Half shall be chosen from the members of academic staff and half from the members of administrative and support staff (excluding staff in academic administrative appointments). At least one of the Assessors shall be from Macdonald Campus.
- **5.1.2.1** The Provost shall endeavour to have a diverse group of Assessors reflective of the diversity of the University Community.

Current harassment assessors appointed under the Policy are:

Academic Staff

Professor Lara Braitsein (Religious Studies) (2013-2016)

Professor Daneille Donnellly (FAES) (2013-2016)

Mr. Eamon Duffy (Libraries) (2016-2018)

Professor Ronald Gehr (Engineering) (2012-2017)

Professor Robert Leckey (Law) (2014-2017)

Non-Academic Staff

Me Charmaine Lyn (Medicine) (2013-2016)

Ms. Adrienne Piggott (Information Systems Resources) (2014-2017)

Mr. Andrew Staples (Institute of Islamic Studies) (2011-2016)

Mr. David Syncox (Teaching and Learning Services) (2013-2016)

Mr. Romesh Vadivel (Enrollment Services) (2016-2018)

Terms of three assessors from the University's non-academic staff (C. Lyn, A. Staples, D. Syncox) will expire in May 2016. These assessors will not renew their terms. This proposal is for the appointment of three new assessors:

Ms. Anne-Marie Durocher, Senior Planning Analyst (PIA). Ms. Durocher has experience collecting and analyzing data drawn from studies on diversity and workplace wellness (e.g., McGill Student Demographic survey, National Survey of Students Engagement, AAUDE Faculty Survey, Learning Organization Survey for administrative staff). She recently supported the information and analysis dimensions of the Senate Open Discussion Report on Employment Equity, and has been trained in conflict-management and effective listening strategies.

Me Ali Martin-Mayer, Assistant Dean (Admissions & Recruitment) (Law). Me Martin-Mayer has spearheaded a number initiatives to bolster the Law's efforts in the field of equity and diversity, specifically as they pertain to Law's student body. She further chairs Law's Educational Equity Advisory Group and has been trained in conflict-management, effective listening and mental health first aid.

Mr. John Poliquin, Senior Staffing Advisor (HR). Mr. Poliquin has profound expertise in human resources and though his career has demonstrated strong leadership and capacity in avoiding, managing and resolving workplace conflict. He has had training on harassment and discrimination in employment contexts and is committed to the role of harassment assessor as an actor that affords McGill community members with the opportunity to be heard and feel safe and respected in their work and learning environments.

This group of new assessors will bring diversity to the team of assessors in a multitude of ways (gender, race and ethnicity, ideological and professional).

PRIOR CONSULTATION

As required by section 5.1.1 of the Policy the following groups were consulted prior to bringing these names to Senate to approval: AGSEM, AMURE, AMUSE, MAUT, MUNASA, MUNACA, MACES, MCLIU, MCSS, PGSS, SACOMSS, SEDE, SSMU and the five trades and services unions.

SUSTAINABILITY CONSIDERATIONS

From a social sustainability perspective, the appointment as harassment assessors of skilled community members sensitive to equity and diversity considerations will ensure effective application of the Policy.

IMPACT OF
DECISION AND
NEXT STEPS

Training for new and current members to ensue.

MOTION OR RESOLUTION FOR APPROVAL

Be it resolved that Senate approve the appointments of Ms. Anne-Marie Durocher, Me Ali Martin-Mayer, and Mr. John Poliquin for three-year terms beginning 1 July 2016 and ending 30 June 2019, as assessors under the Policy on Harassment, Sexual Harassment and Discrimination Prohibited by Law.

APPENDICES

N/A