REPORT OF THE SENATE STEERING COMMITTEE McGILL UNIVERSITY

1. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF SENATE

The minutes of the meeting of October 11, 2006 have been circulated. It is recommended that they now be considered for approval.

2. DEGREES AND DIPLOMAS

In accordance with its terms of reference, Senate Steering Committee, at its meeting on October 11, 2006, approved in the name of Senate the degrees, certificates and diplomas listed in the attached document.

3. 2007 SPRING CONVOCATION REPORT

The following are the approved 2007 Spring Convocation dates with the honorary doctorate candidates who have confirmed their attendance:

Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences	
Faculty of Science "A"	Daniel Dennett
Faculty of Science "B"	Robert J. Zamboni
Centre for Continuing Education	
Faculty of Engineering	Adel Sedra and Les Vadasz
Health Sciences	Marcia Boyd
Faculty of Education	Lise Bissonnette
Desautels Faculty of Management	Marcel Desautels
Faculty of Arts "A" & Faculty of	Martha Nussbaum
Religious Studies	
Faculty of Arts "B"	
Faculty of Law	Jean-Louis Baudouin
Schulich School of Music	
	Faculty of Science "A" Faculty of Science "B" Centre for Continuing Education Faculty of Engineering Health Sciences Faculty of Education Desautels Faculty of Management Faculty of Arts "A" & Faculty of Religious Studies Faculty of Arts "B" Faculty of Law

4. CONFIDENTIAL SESSION

Steering Committee recommends that Senate move into confidential session for discussion of the Report of the Honorary Degrees and Convocations Committee (D06-21).

5. SPEAKING RIGHTS

Senate Steering Committee recommends that Ms. Sylvia Franke be granted speaking rights to reply to questions regarding the Fall 2006 Enrollment Reports (D06-19).

Senate Steering Committee also recommends that Professor Patrick Healy be granted speaking to reply to questions regarding the 24th Annual Report of the University Appeals Committee (D06-15).

6. ELECTORAL REPORTS

Committee to Advise on the Reappointment of the Principal and Vice-Chancellor

Four nominations were received from members of Senate for the two positions on the Committee to Advise on the Reappointment of the Principal and Vice-Chancellor. Through a mail ballot Professors Nigel Roulet and Kohur GowriSankaran were elected from Senate and Professors Ian Butler and Graham Bell were elected as the alternates.