Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation)

In accordance with the University Statutes, an Advisory Committee to the Principal and Vice-Chancellor has been struck for the selection of the Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation).

For more information about advisory committees, please consult:


The composition of the Advisory Committee is based on the requirements of the Statutes. In addition to the Chair of the Advisory Committee, the composition provides for an 11-person committee including:

Chair of the Advisory Committee

Professor Deep Saini, Principal and Vice-Chancellor

Members appointed by the

Board of Governors

Mr. Fred Headon
Mr. Stephen Halperin
Mr. Sam Minzberg
Ms. Cynthia Price Verreault
Members appointed by Senate Professor Nancy Heath
Professor Andrew Kirk
Professor Daniel Bernard
Professor Salwa Karboune

Members appointed by the

Student Associations

Mr. Tareq Hardan, PGSS

Mr. Kerry Yang, SSMU

Mr. Andres Perez Tiniacos, SSMU

Secretary to the Committee Ms. Edyta Rogowska, Secretary-General



The Advisory Committee is responsible for defining the role and set of competencies for the position of University Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation) , consistent with future leadership needs and the evolving environment of higher education, within Quebec, Canada, and internationally. The role and competencies will be captured in the position profile for the role, which will be established by the Committee following a series of consultation sessions with the community. More information about the consultation sessions will be provided in the near future.

The Advisory Committee is mandated to identify and consider qualified individuals for the position of Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation), and to nominate top candidates for the role to the Board of Governors, which is ultimately responsible for approving the appointment of the Vice-Principal (Research and Innovation).


Once the Advisory Committee is formed, its process involves several stages, generally focusing on the following steps:

  1. Committee orientation, consultations with the McGill community and development of a position profile for the role
  2. Identifying and cultivating prospective candidates
  3. Reviewing and assessing prospective candidates
  4. Evaluating candidates against the criteria established in the position profile and selecting those for interview by the Committee
  5. Interviews, Committee deliberations and reference checking
  6. Formulating recommendations of top candidates for consideration by the Board of Governors
  7. Appointment of candidate to the role by the Board of Governors

Application Process:

McGill is partnering with the executive search firm KBRS on this search process. Any nominations or expressions or interests for this opportunity may be communicated to Ms. Katherine Frank at kfrank [at] or to Mr. Chris Gibson at cgibson [at]

Members of the McGill community with questions relating to the selection process may contact Ms. Edyta Rogowska, Secretary-General by email at advisories [at]

Reference Materials:

PDF icon 2016 Previous Position Profile (ENG)

PDF icon 2016 Previous Position Profile (FRN)

Back to top