Presentation of Alumni Awards

The 2012 winner of the Distinguished Alumni Award for Professional Leadership, Sharon Fotheringham, will receive her award during our 50th anniversary events on October 25th. Sharon Fotheringham has had a nationwide impact on the field of Speech-Language Pathology. In addition to her practice with both adults and children in Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Ontario, she was appointed as the first director of SAC in 1996. During her fifteen-year tenure with SAC, Mrs. Fotheringham developed competency profiles for professionals as well as standards for both clinical certification and University accreditation. She also negotiated agreements with international professional associations for mutual recognition with several countries, and played a leadership role in support of key SAC committees and in the preparation of several reports of national importance to the profession.

The 2014 winner of the Distinugished Alumni Award for Research Leadership, Christy Ludlow, will also receive her award during our 50th anniversary events. Dr. Ludlow is being honored for her distinguished career as a leader in research and for her research training contributions in communication sciences and disorders. She is a graduate from McGill receiving her MSc. Applied in Speech Pathology and Audiology in 1967. She went on to receive the Walter A Anderson doctoral research fellowship and received her PhD from New York University. Dr. Ludlow is internationally renowned for her research on the neural bases of voice, speech and swallowing. She is currently the Director of the PhD program at James Madison University where she is conducting research on new devices for intensive neurorehabilitation following stroke.