

Guidelines for the Faculty of Science Excellence Award

This award recognizes the outstanding performance and contributions made by members of the Faculty's administrative and support staff in each of the four categories: clerical (C), technical (T), management (M) and, as of the 2020-2021 academic year, academic associate (A). Recipients are presented with a certificate, a personal memento, and a monetary award at the Faculty of Science meeting in May each year.

Eligibility

Members of the Faculty of Science's administrative and support staff – i.e. staff classified as "C," "T" "M", including newly unionized M1, and "A" – who have been on staff in the Faculty for a minimum of three years are eligible for the award.

Conditions

Nominees

- Permanent part-time and permanent sessional staff may be nominated for the award. The length of service for these staff must be equivalent to three years full-time in the Faculty of Science.
- Previous recipients of the award are not eligible for re-nomination for a period of five years.
- Staff who are members of both the Faculty of Arts and the Faculty of Science may be nominated for the Faculty of Arts Award of Excellence for Administrative and Support Staff **only**.

Nominators

- Nominations and letters of support may be submitted by any member of the Faculty of Science, including academic, clerical, managerial and technical staff, and students registered in a Faculty of Science department.
- No individual may nominate, or submit a letter in support of, more than one nominee per category per year.
- A maximum of one letter of support per nominee may be submitted by a member of a department outside the Faculty of Science.
- A maximum of one letter of support per nominee may be submitted by a student.
- Staff who are members of both the Faculty of Science and the Faculty of Arts may support nominations
 for both the Faculty of Science Excellence Award and the Faculty of Arts Award of Excellence for
 Administrative and Support Staff.

Nomination dossier

Nominations for the Faculty of Science Excellence Award must include all of the following:

Online forms

- Y Nomination form
- Υ <u>Description of outstanding contributions form</u>

Supporting documents

Please email the following in PDF format to ac.science@mcgill.ca

- Υ A short biography, highlighting the nominee's length of service at McGill and in their current position.
- Y A maximum of three (3) one-page letters of support, profiling the nominee's contributions to their Department, the Faculty and the University.



Selection committee

The selection committee for the Faculty of Science Excellence Award shall be named by the Dean, and chaired by the Dean or the Dean's representative.

Members of the selection committee shall be appointed for a period of two years.

If a member of the selection committee is nominated for the award, that individual shall recuse herself/himself from the committee and an alternate shall be named.

The selection committee shall assess all nominations fairly and equitably and consider the relative impact of each nominee's accomplishments within the context of the individual's classification.

The selection committee shall award on the basis of truly outstanding performance and contribution to the Department, the Faculty and the University. The award should not be given if there are no strong candidates in a given year.

When a recipient has been selected by the committee, the committee Chair shall advise the individual of the committee's decision and ensure that the individual is willing to accept the award.

Selection committee members

One academic representative (Chair)

Prof. Paul Lasko, Biology

Two representatives from the "M" classification

Marilena Cafaro – Dean's Unit Caroline LeBlond - Biology

Two representatives from the "C" classification

Ann Jack - Computer Science Nina Pinzarrone - Psychology

Two representatives from the "T" classification

Anna Jung, Earth & Planetary Sciences Ruilan Shi, Geography

Two representatives from the "A" classification

Mitchell Huot, Chemistry Armin Yazdani, Office of Science Education