Prof. Isztar Zawadzki, Luis Federico Leloir Award for International Cooperation in Science, Technology, and Innovation

Published: 17 February 2014

Congratulations to Dr. Isztar Zawadzki, FRSC, Professor Emeritus in the Department of Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences for receiving a 2013 Luis Federico Leloir Award from the Argentinian Ministry of Science, Technology, and Productive Innovation. This award recognizes non-Argentinian scientists who have contributed significantly to scientific, technological, and innovation cooperation with Argentina.

Professor Zawadzki received a degree in physics from the Faculty of Natural Sciences at the University of Buenos Aires (UBA) before completing his M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Meteorology at McGill University. He is the Director of the J.S. Marshall Radar Observatory at McGill. Professor Zawadzki is highly respected as one of the founders of the field of nowcasting and as a leader in the field of radar meteorology. Argentina has enjoyed his continuous support. In 2004, 2009, and 2013 he taught at the UBA's Faculty of Natural Sciences, and has collaborated on the National Weather Radar System (SINARAME). He has received numerous Argentine researchers in Canada, and has advanced the field of meteorological radar in Argentina.

Professor Zawadzki received the award in Buenos Aires on November 13, 2013, from Dr. Lino Barañao, Minister of Science, Technology, and Productive Innovation.

Back to top