Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Monday, June 25, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
October 14, 2004 - Volume 37 Number 03
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


Neurosurgery professor Dr. William Feindel was recently named a Great Montrealer/ Grand Montrealais by the Montreal Board of Trade. Dr. Feindel will be honoured in a ceremony on October 21 at City Hall, along with the three other 2004 inductees: André Chagnon (chairman of the board and chief  executive officer of the Fondation Lucie et André Chagnon), Daniel Langlois (president and founder Ex-Centris and the Daniel Langlois Foundation)  and Denis Brott (cellist and professor, Conservatoire de musique de Montréal, and founder and director of the Montreal Chamber Music Festival).

Four McGill faculty members are among the seven researchers receiving the 2004 Prix de la recherche of Acfas (Association francophone pour le savoir).

Alain Beaudet, professor of neurology and neurosurgery (McGill/Montreal Neurological Institute) won the Prix Adrien-Pouliot (for Scientific co-operation with France).

Yvan Lamonde, professor of French language and literature, was honoured with the Prix André-Laurendeau (humanities).

John Hall, James McGill Chair of Sociology and dean of the Faculty of Arts, won the Prix Marcel-Vincent (social sciences).

Adi Eisenberg, Otto Maass Professor of Chemistry, received the Prix Urgel-Archambault (physical sciences, mathematics and engineering).

In addition, two McGill students won the Prix de l'Excellence de l'Association des doyens des études supérieures au Québec (ADESAQ) for the best doctoral dissertation in their research area: Hassan Said Bazzi (natural sciences and engineering) and Stephen Chrisomalis (humanities, social sciences and arts).

Dr. Caroline Palmer from the Department of Psychology has been awarded fellow status in the American Psychological Association (APA). Fellow status is awarded on the basis of evaluated evidence of outstanding contribution in the field of psychology, based on special recognition by peers. Fellows must also demonstrate the national impact of their work.

Based in Washington, DC, the APA is the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States and is the world's largest association of psychologists.

Dr. George Styan from the Department of Mathematics and Statistics was recently awarded the H.C. Carver Medal of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS). This award honours Harry C. Carver, founding editor of the Annals of Mathematical Statistics and one of the founders of the IMS. The medal is for exceptional service specifically to the IMS and is open to any member of the IMS who has not previously been elected president.

view sidebar content | back to top of page