Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Monday, July 16, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
November 13, 2003 - Volume 36 Number 05
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


Jill Barker, Athletics Department, who also writes a fitness column for The Gazette, has won top honours at the Conseil québécois du loisir's journalism awards. Barker won first prize for an article entitled "Score one for sportsmanship."

McGill's Patricia Jaworski, Mechanical Engineering, and Araba Chintoh, postgraduate student in psychiatry, both earned all-Canadian honours at the CIS national women's rugby championships in Edmonton.

David Harpp, Sir William C. Macdonald Professor of Chemistry, will receive the James Flack Norris Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Teaching of Chemistry.

Senator E. Leo Kolber will be awarded the Sir Mortimer B. Davis -- Jewish General Hospital Distinguished Service Award. This award is given annually to recognize and honour extraordinary individuals who have had a profound impact on the development of the hospital, the board of which he's on. At the same event, Dr. Susan Kahn will receive special recognition for achievements in research. Dr. Kahn is acting director of the Centre for Clinical Epidemiology and Community Studies of the Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, as well as Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine and Associate Member in the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics. Lynne McVey, Nursing Director of Medicine, Psychiatry, Oncology and Geriatrics and Assistant Director of Nursing, will also be honoured for her achievements in nursing. She has played a key role in the development of the hospital's planned Comprehensive Cancer Centre.

Professor Elizabeth Elbourne, History department, has received the Wallace K. Ferguson Prize from the Canadian Historical Association for her book Blood Ground: Colonialism, Missions and the Contest for Christianity in the Cape Colony and Britain, 1799-1853. It is a study of the earliest missionaries sent out by the London Missionary Society to evangelize the doomed Hottentot culture and people of Cape Colony, South Africa.

Les Palmes académiques is awarded by the government of France to persons who have rendered outstanding services to education. These were bestowed upon French Language and Literature professor Axel Maugey; Professor James Archibald, Director of Translation Studies at the Centre for Continuing Education; David Williams of the English Department and the Kennedy Smith professor in Catholic Studies.

Wayne Wood, Manager of the Environmental Safety Office, has been elected President of the Canadian Registration Board of Occupational Hygienists, the organization responsible for accreditation of professional occupational hygiene technologists across Canada.

The Principal's Prize for Excellence in Teaching were awarded in October to Fritz Buchinger (Physics) in the Faculty Lecturer category; John Abela (Psychology) in the Assistant Professor category; Brian Alters (Education as well as Science) in the Associate Professor category; and Rex Brynen (Political Science) in the Full Professor category. The Reporter will provide more coverage in an upcoming issue.

view sidebar content | back to top of page