Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
October 23, 2003 - Volume 36 Number 04
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


McGill came away a big winner at the Forces Avenir gala in Quebec. Two of the three graduate finalists were from McGill: Cath Mortin, biomedical engineering and Félix-Antoine Boudreault, civil engineering. Boudreault was the grand winner (see profile). In the "Personality of the future" category, MDCM graduate Samir Hussain was one of the three undergraduate winners. In the project category of Aid, Peace and Justice, Projet Horizons, based in the Faculty of Education, was the overall winner. In the category of Science and Applied Technology, a team from Mechanical Engineering won with the Automated Visual Inspection Station. Arun Misra, Chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering was present to share in the celebration.

Gerald Ross, dean of the Faculty of Management, received the initial Excellence Award in Corporate Governance from the Federated Press. Dean Ross was awarded this recognition thanks to his outstanding contribution to the advancement of corporate governance.

Ratna Ghosh, dean of the Faculty of Education, was recognized by Time (Canadian edition) as one of "Canada's Best" in the category of Education. The article appears in the October 13 issue.

McGill's Faculty of Management has been included among the world's 36 most socially conscious universities. The survey was conducted by the World Resources Institute of Washington and New York's Aspen Institute. The list included 21 business schools from the US, the Netherlands, Spain, France and Finland.

Edward Fon of the Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery and the Montreal Neurological Institute has received a Blaise Pascal Research Chair fellowship from the Republic of France. This prestigious international award, worth 75,000 Euros, will allow him to work with colleagues in Paris to advance his research on Parkinson's and other neurodegenerative diseases.

John Bergeron, Professor and chair of the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, has been elected to the position of incoming president of the Human Proteome Organization. The organization is an international not-for-profit body whose mission is to coordinate and support the efforts of national and regional entities involved in proteomic research.

Thomas Hudson has been awarded a Who's Who in Healthcare Award from Canadian Healthcare Manager magazine in the Medical Research category. The awards recognize those in various arenas whose leadership has changed healthcare across Canada.

Charles Taylor has been awarded $100,000 Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada Gold Medal for outstanding research achievement. (See separate story.)

view sidebar content | back to top of page