Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Sunday, July 22, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
May 9, 2002 - Volume 34 Number 16
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


Jeff Johnston, a piano instructor in the Faculty of Music's Jazz Area, was recently a nominee for a Juno Award for best contemporary jazz instrumental album. Johnston earned the nomination for Nuage, an album that has drawn rave reviews from The Gazette and The Toronto Star.

A team of researchers from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering has won the IEEE Power Engineering Society's Outstanding Technical Committee Prize Paper Award for their paper, "A web-based virtual environment for operator training." The team included the late Professor Alfred Malowany, E.K. Tam, Fady Badra, R.J. Marceau and M.A. Marin.

Sylvain-Jacques Desjardins, communications officer for the University Relations Office (and contributing writer for the Reporter), and François Langevin, a translator with the Translation Office, have earned a silver medal in the Canadian Council for the Advancement of Education's annual Prix d'Excellence competition. The prize was awarded in the category of Best News Release -- French Writing and was won for a press release about research on the potential benefits of medical marijuana by a team led by anesthesia professor Mark Ware.

The YWCA handed out awards in three categories to McGill people at it's ninth annual Women of Distinction gala. Associate professor Annmarie Adams, School of Architecture, won in Science and Technology; Vania Jimenez, Director of Family Medicine Research Division, won in Health; and Psychology major Naomi Lear, Faculty of Science, won the Young Woman of Distinction award. Finalists included Margaret Becklake, Professor Emeritus, Epidemiology and Biostatistics (Respiratory Epidemiology Unit), Law student Dilshad Marolia, and Frances Westley, Faculty of Management director of the McGill-McConnell Program for Voluntary Sector Leaders.

Principal Bernard Shapiro was the recipient of this year's Mount Scopus Award, the highest honour of the Canadian Friends of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. The award is given to those who show excellence in their field and work tirelessly for humanitarian causes.

Electrical and Computer Engineering professor (post-retirement) Clifford H. Champness was awarded the degree of Doctor of Science (DSc) from the University of London for published work in the field of "Characteristics of Semiconductors."

Ian Butler, Associate Vice-Principal (Research) and Professor of Chemistry, has been awarded a Distinguished Service Award for past outstanding commitment to the Spectroscopy Society of Canada (SSC). Dr. Butler is an early recipient of this award, as it was initiated by the SSC only in 2000.

English professor Eric Ormsby is a finalist for a National Magazine Award in the category of "Essays" for a piece he did for Descant called "In search of Al-Majati."

view sidebar content | back to top of page