Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Thursday, May 24, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
January 10, 2002 - Volume 34 Number 08
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


Dr. Freda Miller from the Montreal Neurological Institute, Professor Graham Bell from the Department of Biology and the research duo of Professor John Bergeron from the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology and Professor David Thomas from the Department of Biochemistry were all recognized for their work in Québec Science's annual "Les 10 découvertes de l'année" issue. Miller was recognized for her work on stem cells, Bell was singled out for his research on biodiversity and Bergeron and Thomas were feted for their insights into how proteins are folded.

Professor Robin Poole from the Department of Surgery has recently been appointed scientific director of The Canadian Arthritis Network, a National Network of Centres of Excellence involving over 130 researchers. Poole is the director of the Joint Diseases Laboratory at the Shriners Hospital.

Dr. Eugene Bereza from the Biomedical Ethics Unit has been elected as the new chair of the Committee on Ethics for the Canadian Medical Association and was appointed by Allan Rock, Federal Minister of Health, as the ethicist to the new National Council on Donation and Transplantation.

Dr. Harriet Kuhnlein from the School of Dietetics and Human Nutrition is the 2001-2002 recipient of Macdonald Campus's Earle W. Crampton Award for Distinguished Service in Nutrition. Kuhnlein was recognized for her contributions to the school, for the leading role she played in the creation of the Centre for Indigenous People's Nutrition and Environment and for her research dealing with the issues affecting the nutritional status and well-being of indigenous peoples in Canada and around the world. Although awarded by McGill, the prize is not restricted to McGill candidates.

Jean Bouffard, an undergraduate in the Department of Chemistry's honours program, received a Lucien-Piché Prize, awarded to the three best chemistry and biochemistry students in Quebec. Bouffard has maintained a GPA of 3.96 while impressing professors with his potential as a researcher in his lab work and volunteering as an organizer for the 2002 Chemistry Olympiads to be held at McGill.

Simon Trudel, an undergraduate in the Department of Chemistry, received one of the two awards for the best presentation in the undergraduate students category during the seventh edition of Quebec's Annual Symposium of Inorganic Chemistry. In his research project, performed under the supervision of Professor Denis Gilson, Trudel provided the first spectroscopic evidence of the existence of dihydrogen bond. Trudel is also the president of the Science Undergraduates Society.

Professor Philip Carl Salzman from the Department of Anthropology has won the 2001 Primio Pitrè-Salomone Marino, the most prestigious book prize administered by the Centro Internazionale di Etnostoria of Palermo. The award, worth five million Italian lire, is for Salzman's Black Tents of Baluchistan, a book that examines the lives of the Baluchi nomads of Iran.

Professor David Harpp from the Department of Chemistry has been appointed to one of his department's two endowed Macdonald Chairs. The chairs were among those established by McGill benefactor Sir William C. Macdonald (others exist in the Faculty of Education and the Department of Physics) to ensure that McGill was able to attract the services of outstanding faculty in different disciplines.

view sidebar content | back to top of page