Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
September 13, 2001 - Volume 34 Number 01
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


Professor Janet Donald from the Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology was elected as a new Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada's Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences. Donald was cited as "a distinguished researcher in higher education who has changed the way universities view disciplines, student learning and the postsecondary instructional process."

Dr. George Karpati from the Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery and Dr. Mark Wainberg, director of the McGill AIDS Centre, have been named as new officers of the Order of Canada. Karpati is recognized throughout the world as one of the leading experts on the diagnosis and treatment of neuromuscular disorders and is the recipient of several prestigious awards, including the Distinguished Scientist Award from the Canadian Society of Clinical Investigation. Apart from being an internationally renowned scientist in the field of HIV/AIDS, Wainberg is the former president of the International AIDS Society and was instrumental in the founding of the Canadian Association for HIV Research.

Professor T.L. Sourkes from the Department of Psychiatry has been awarded the Inaugural Medal of the International Society for the History of the Neurosciences for the best article published in the society's journal for the years 1998 to 2000. The article in question was entitled "An element of thought: Phosphorus and mental philosophy in the 19th century."

McGill Martlets soccer players Eva Melamed and Alanna Maloney represented the country as members of the Canadian women's soccer team at the World University Games held recently in Beijing. Also named to the team, but unable to take part due to injury, was the Martlets' Amber Allen. Martlets head coach Marc Mounicot served as an assistant coach with the Canadian squad. Serving as members of the Team Canada mission staff were Professor David Covo, director of the School of Architecture, and sports information officer Earl Zukerman from the Department of Athletics.

Dr. Barry Pless from the Departments of Epidemiology & Biostatistics and Pediatrics has received the Ross Award in Pediatrics from the Canadian Pediatric Society. The prize is presented each year "to an individual who demonstrates excellence of achievement in the field of pediatric research, education, child health care and child advocacy." The director of the Injury Prevention Program at the Montreal Children's Hospital, Pless's work on injury prevention has led to, among other things, changes to the Highway Safety Code.

view sidebar content | back to top of page