Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Monday, July 23, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
February 22, 2001 - Volume 33 Number 11
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


Dr. Jonathon Meakins from the Department of Surgery has been named an officer of the Order of Canada, the country's highest honour for lifetime achievement. The head of surgical services at the McGill University Health Centre, Meakins is a world authority in the field of surgical infections. Meakins is also credited with playing a major role in the development of laparoscopic and transplantation surgery.

Other McGill faculty who were already named to the Order of Canada and who will be formally invested at a ceremony at Rideau Hall later this month include Dean of Education Ratna Ghosh, adjunct professor of education Gretta Chambers, physiology professor David Goltzman and pediatrics professor Richard Hamilton.

Professor Spencer Boudreau from the Faculty of Education and Professor Patricia Kirkpatrick from the Faculty of Religious Studies have been appointed to the Quebec government's Comité sur les affaires religieuses by education minister François Legault. The comité's role is to offer the education minister advice on matters related to the place of the religion in Quebec schools. The comité plays a role in the evaluation of religious and moral educational programs.

Professor Brenda Milner from the Montreal Neurological Institute delivered the John McGovern Award Lecture at the 2001 annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. First delivered in 1990, the lecture honours prominent behavioural scientists from around the world. Milner's research has been instrumental in determining the functions of the hippocampus and the role of the temporal and frontal lobes in learning, memory and speech functions.

Professor Peter Hoffmann was awarded the Officer's Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany in a recent ceremony at the German Consul General's residence. Hoffmann was honoured for outstanding scholarly work and for his contribution to international academic co-operation, especially between Canada and Germany. Hoffmann is one of the world's foremost experts on the subject of Germans who resisted Hitler's rule during the Nazi era.

Ms. Brianne Law, a student in the Faculty of Science, competed in alpine skiing as a member of the Canadian national team at the Winter World University Games in Zakopane, Poland. Law won the Quebec university alpine ski circuit women's individual championship last year. This year, she has one gold, two silvers and a bronze after six races in the Quebec league.

Ms. Mariam El-Zein, a PhD student in the Department of Occupational Health, won the department's Dr. Premysl (Mike) Pelnar Academic Enrichment Award for her impressive work.

view sidebar content | back to top of page