Letter McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
January 11, 2001 - Volume 33 Number 08
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


To the editor:

In the article that appeared in your December 7, 2000, issue under the headline "Keeping our Best," a list of James McGill Professors and William Dawson Scholars was provided. One of our associate members, Professor Rima Rozen, is among the James McGill Professors, yet the Department of Biology was not mentioned among the departments with which she is affiliated. Similarly, in the article in the same issue under the headline "Kudos," recognition is given to Professor Guy Rouleau for his receipt of the CIHR Michael Smith Award for Excellence. Professor Rouleau is also an Associate Member of Biology, yet this fact was not mentioned in the story.

In Biology we are proud of the many accomplishments of our associate staff, who contribute a great deal to our vibrant research and teaching program. I would like to publicly congratulate these two staff members on behalf of our department. I also ask the Reporter to ensure that Biology receives credit for all noteworthy accomplishments in the future!

Paul F. Lasko
Professor and Chair
Department of Biology

Professor Lasko makes an understandable request and it is one we'll try our best to comply with, but we can offer him no ironclad guarantees. We can only publish what we know. Neither Professor Rozen nor Professor Rouleau is included in the McGill phone book's listing of members of the Department of Biology, for instance. The official memo sent out by the administration to various members of the McGill community about the first McGill and Dawson recipients also did not mention the Department of Biology in relation to Rozen.

view sidebar content | back to top of page