Kudos McGill University

| Skip to search Skip to navigation Skip to page content

User Tools (skip):

Sign in | Monday, June 25, 2018
Sister Sites: McGill website | myMcGill

McGill Reporter
February 24, 2000 - Volume 32 Number 11
| Help
Page Options (skip): Larger


Dr. Charles LeBlond, from the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, has been promoted to the rank of companion within the Order of Canada. Among LeBlond's contributions to medical science: He developed radioautography in 1945 — a process that involves injecting radioactive material into organisms and using these "tracers" to study where and how cells and molecular processes take place.

Dr. Richard Margolese, from the Departments of Oncology and Surgery, received the R.M. Taylor Medal and Award. This award is given jointly by the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) and the National Cancer Institute of Canada (NCIC) to recognize exceptional contributions to cancer control. Margolese chaired the Cancer 2000 Task Force in the early 1990s that called for more coordinated cancer control planning. As a researcher, his work has pointed to the effectiveness of the drug tamoxifen for many women at risk for breast cancer and to the success of lumpectomies and radiation therapy, as an alternative to mastectomies, in the treatment of women with early breast cancer.

Ms. Kim St-Pierre, a student in the Department of Physical Education and the goaltender on the McGill women's hockey team, has been selected to play on the Canadian national women's team that will compete in the world women's hockey championship, which runs April 3-9 in Mississauga, Ontario.

Professor John Toth, from the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, has been awarded an Alfred Sloan Research Fellowship. The fellowship carries with it a sum of $40,000 U.S. and goes to young scientists who "show the most outstanding promise of making fundamental contributions to new knowledge." Toth's area of research focuses on micro local analysis. He uses geometry and number theory extensively in his work.

Mr. David McKnight, McGill University Libraries digital collections librarian, has been selected to participate in the Frye Leadership Institute, sponsored by the Woodruff Foundation, EDUCASE, Emory University and the Council on Library and Information Resources.The Frye Leadership Institute is designed for individuals in higher education who aspire to significant leadership roles in information management.

Professor Lawrence Mysak, from the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, has been elected a fellow of the American Geophysical Union for "having attained acknowledged eminence in one or more branches of geophysics." Mysak is now the only Canadian to hold fellowships in all three North American organizations that relate to his area of expertise — he is also a fellow of the American Meteorological Society and the Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society.

view sidebar content | back to top of page