Association of Residents of McGill (ARM) and Féderation des Médecins du Québec (FMRQ)

The ARM represents all RAMQ-funded McGill residents. The ARM, along with the other three Quebec resident associations (Montreal, Sherbrooke, and Laval), form the Fédération des Médecins Résidents du Québec (FMRQ). The FMRQ collective agreement is the document that sets guidelines for residents’ salaries, work hours, on-call duties, and all forms of leave. A new collective agreement was reached in 2010 and continued until 2015. It is the elected members of the FMRQ that represent all Quebec residents in negotiations with the government. Moreover, the FMRQ is an important resource for residents in academic or psychosocial difficulty.


To contact the ARM: Association of Residents of McGill


To contact the FMRQ: Fédération des Médecins Résidents du Québec
630 Sherbrooke Street West, 510 Montréal, QC, H3A 1E4
Tel: (514) 282-0256
PDF version of the 2010–2015 FMRQ collective agreement:

Canadian Psychiatric Association – Members-in-Training (MIT) Section

Founded in 1951, the Canadian Psychiatric Association (CPA) is the national voluntary professional association for Canada's 4,000 psychiatrists. It serves as an advocate for the professional needs of its members and promotes excellence in education, research, and clinical practice.

The MIT section has direct representation on the CPA board and provides resident representation to other CPA committees. The MIT section’s current goals are to expand membership, generate possible solutions to systemic gaps and issues that affect residents, and help foster the overall professional, academic, and personal development of psychiatric residents.

The executive of the MIT section meets twice a year in person, in conjunction with the spring rounds of meetings in Ottawa and at the CPA’s annual conference in the fall, and it meets regularly via teleconference. It welcomes comments and suggestions from residents.

For more information:
Chair of the section at MIT [at]

Association des Médecins Psychiatres du Québec (AMPQ)

The AMPQ is the organization that represents the 1,050 psychiatrists who work in the province of Quebec. The AMPQ’s mission is to promote psychiatry in Quebec. Its areas of concern include the organization of mental health care and the practice framework for psychiatrists. The association contributes to the mental health of the Quebec population by demystifying mental illness, fighting biases, and supporting community organizations that operate in the field.

For more information:
Resident representative on the conseil d’administration: François-Samuel Lahaie, R3